Search DELCAT
Literature Review
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Partial Open Access. Search engine specifically for scholarly publications. You can access the full-text of articles from open access & preprint publications, but you must be logged in to your UDel email account in order to access subscriptions provided by the UD Library.
- Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, & humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, & workshops across the globe. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly literature covering the history & culture of the U.S. & Canada, from prehistory to the present. - Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compilation of the Anthropological Index Online & Anthropological Literature databases. An extensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, & related interdisciplinary research. (Coverage: late 19th c. --) - AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowFull-text journals from the American Anthropological Association, with links to backfile issues in JSTOR. (Coverage: varies by journal)
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A resource for religious & theological studies. Provides bibliographic records for topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, & religion in social issues. (Coverage: 1949 --) - Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Resources for researching the past, present, & future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, & Africa itself. Comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.
- Black Studies Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content from international scholarly & popular periodicals in Black Studies & contains full-text coverage of core Black Studies titles. (Coverage:varies, some as far back as 1902; full text 1998 to the present)) - Ethnologue: Languages of the World This link opens in a new windowComprehensively catalogs all of the world's known living languages
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports & conference proceedings devoted to womens & gender issues. (Coverage: mid-1970s --) - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering world history (excluding the U.S. & Canada) from the 15th century to the present. Subjects include world history, military history, womens history, history of education & more. Indexes 2,300+ academic journals in over 40 languages. (Coverage: 1952 --) - Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Explore the history of native peoples from the 16th to the 20th centuries. Covers American Indian tribes & supporting organizations. (Coverage: 1500-present) Additional information available. This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.
- Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to publications on race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature of sociology & related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences. (Coverage: 1952 --)
- DRC E.L.QUARANTELLI RESOURCE COLLECTIONPublished materials (books, articles), preliminary papers, reports about disasters (damage, after action, recovery), or disaster plans from the UD Disaster Research Center.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reporting & analysis on “hot topics” in the news. Each single-themed report is researched & written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted & professionally fact checked. (Coverage: 1923 --)
- Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the study of sustainability & the environment. Topics include ecosystems, global warming, food safety, & introductions to environmental disasters. - GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the worlds literature in geology & the geosciences. GeoRef covers the geology of North America since 1785 and the geology of the rest of the world since 1933. Citations to articles, some with abstracts, in 40 languages. Also includes books, maps, reports, most U.S. Geological Survey publications & U.S. & Canadian masters theses & doctoral dissertations. (Coverage: North America 1785 -- ; other areas of the world 1933 --) - GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment, including content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, & more.
- Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry & physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography, & environmental sciences. (Coverage: 1974 --) - Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing & abstracting for journals within the natural sciences. Brings together ProQuests 6 natural sciences collections: Agriculture Science, Aquatic Science, Atmospheric Science, Biological Science, Earth Science & Environmental Science. (Coverage: 1962 --)
Resources for Analysis
- American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new windowTraces the progress of American History. Covers the major themes of the period from colonization & settlement through the revolution, expansion, politics, slavery, the Civil War & reconstruction, to World War II. (Coverage: 1493-1945)
- Archives of Latin America & Caribbean History 16th-20th Century This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that includes a comprehensive range of content for the region, both for current issues & events in Latin America & the Caribbean, as well as for historical perspective back to the colonial period. (Coverage: 15th -20th c.)
- Archives Unbound This link opens in a new windowTopically focused collections of historical documents on specialized themes ranging from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to 20th century political history. Learn more about this database.
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
Spanning 4 centuries & covering North & Central America, this database provides access to material from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world.
- Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Explore the history of native peoples from the 16th to the 20th centuries. Covers American Indian tribes & supporting organizations. (Coverage: 1500-present) Additional information available. This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.
- Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954 This link opens in a new windowA variety of original manuscript collections from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York. Offers insights into the everyday lives of the American Jewish population over 3 centuries. (Coverage: c1654-1954)
- Refugees, Relief & Resettlement This link opens in a new windowA multi-sourced collection that considers the global scope of the forced migration & refugee crisis leading up to, during, & after World War II. Chronicles the plight of refugees & displaced persons across Europe, North Africa & Asia. (Coverage: 1935-1950)
- Religions of America This link opens in a new windowFollows the development of U.S. religions/religious movements from 1820 to 1990 via manuscripts, pamphlets, newsletters, ephemera & visuals. (Coverage: 1820-1990)
- ArchiveGridArchiveGrid includes over three million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
- American Memory This link opens in a new window
Open Access. An online gateway to the Library of Congress's vast collection of primary source materials relating to the history & culture of the U.S.
- National Archives and Records AdministrationAlthough NARA does not have many of their collections digitized, they have worked to make some available online. Anyone is welcome to conduct research at a NARA location. If you are interested in conducting in-person research, click on their "Research our Records" tab at the top left of the page. You can limit on the left-hand side for "Photographs and other Graphic Material."
- African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Complete text of the major African American newspapers published in the U.S & Canada during the 19th c. (Coverage: 19th c. with limited early 20th c.)
- Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The experience & impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. (Coverage: 1704-1975)
- Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Open Access. Search America's historic newspapers or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published from 1690-present.
(Coverage: 1770-1963) - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive source for theory & research in international affairs. Each section of CIAO is updated with new material regularly.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text newspapers, magazines& journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. (Coverage: 1959 --) Learn more about this database.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowRecent global news content, as well as archives. Content from newspapers, newswires & news sites in full-text format. Provides large collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America & Australia.
(Coverage: 1980 --) - Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
Publications of a range of indigenous communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the U.S. & Canada. (Coverage: 1828-2016 - majority of material from 1970-2016)
- Latin American Newspapers, Series I This link opens in a new window
Explore Latin American history & culture during the 19th & early 20th centuries via 35 Latin American newspapers. Features titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, & elsewhere. (Coverage: 1805-1922)
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to 6 major U.S. newspapers, 1 regional U.S. newspaper, 1 international newspaper & 7 Black newspapers from the U.S. (Coverage: 19th & 20th centuries) More information & title list.
- Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new windowContains an extensive range of both rare & well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the U.S., Canada, New Zealand, India & the countries of Europe, Africa & the Middle East. Allied & Axis publications are presented, offering a broad view of the war & the experiences of those on its front lines. (Coverage: 1939-1948)
- South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Explore South Asian history & culture during the 19th & early 20th centuries via hundreds of thousands of fully searchable newspaper pages. Features titles published in India, Pakistan, & Sri Lanka. Languages include English, Bengali, Gujarati, & others. (Coverage: 1864-1922)
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of tens of thousands of videos spanning a wide range of subject areas such as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, & music. More
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video in a wide variety of subject areas, including documentaries & feature films. Instructors may request content not currently made available to the UD community.
- Swank Digital Campus Streaming Video This link opens in a new windowA collection of 1000+ classic and current feature films. Instructors may request content not currently made available to the UD community. Please note: Films provided by Swank are not viewable with the Safari browser.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowCloud based Geographic Information System (GIS). Provides access to thousands of demographic indicators across a wide range of geographies, as well as school districts, HUD neighborhoods, & political boundaries. Facilitates the analyses of large amounts of data & quickly displays the data through maps, tables, charts, & reports.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowData on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest & markets. Learn more about this database.
- ICPSRICPSR offers more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data. Disciplines represented include political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, terrorism, health and medical care, early education, education, racial and ethnic minorities, psychology, law, substance abuse and mental health, and more.
- IPUMS USAIPUMS USA collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present.
- UNdataThe United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) offers a single entry point to the many UN statistical databases and links to national data services throughout the world.
- Canadian Heritage Information Network This link opens in a new windowA collection of online resources related to art history, archaeology, art conservation, history, museum studies, intellectual property, & the natural sciences. Resources in the following areas are included:
- Islamic Heritage ProjectMaterials in the Islamic Heritage Project digital collection date from the 10th to the 20th centuries and represent many areas of Islamic History.
- Latin American Network Information CenterPlease note: There might be some broken links listed on this website.
- Middle East Research and Information ProjectThe Middle East Research and Information Project is a non-profit, non-governmental organization that provides information and analysis on Middle East politics, culture and society.