Selected databases
Databases organize, or index, information on many journals and the articles published within those journals. Databases can be the most efficient way to search for research on a topic.
- AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Citations to agricultural literature acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL). It includes journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products. - CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of research on agriculture in the broadest sense. Subjects include Agriculture, Environment, Veterinary sciences, Plant sciences, Mycology and Parasitology, Food science, Human health, and Nutrition. (Coverage: 1990 --)
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, providing comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.
- AgEcon SearchResearch in Agricultural and Applied Economics
A free-to-user Web site that contains the full text of working papers, conference papers and journal articles in applied economics, including the subtopics of agricultural, consumer, energy, environmental, and resource economics. Contributors include academic institutions, government agencies, professional associations, and non-government organizations.
Multidisciplinary databases cover numerous subjects, including economics, statistics and related fields.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database covers all disciplines and provides access to journal literature from over 14,000 scholarly journals. Web of Science allows for searching for cited authors or cited works. This database is an excellent choice for discovering seminal, highly cited works on a topic. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstracting database covering thousands of active titles, primarily peer-reviewed journals. Also includes eBooks, major reference works and graduate level textbooks. Emphasis on social sciences, arts and humanities, but also includes science, technology and medicine. Includes thousands of Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, and patents. (Coverage: Primarily 1970-present. Some pre-1970 records going back to 1788)
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database of more than 8,000 journals covering many disciplines. Most of the journals are full text. This is an excellent database for searching for professional publications in addition to scholarly sources.
These databases cover specialty areas within the social sciences or disciplines which are related to applied economics and statistics.
- ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of business and financial journals, including essential scholarly journals and the most important trade journals.
- International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data Portal This link opens in a new window
IMF data visualization and statistical tools.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text information from news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Though not required, you have the option to create a personal account that will give you access to special features such as alerts, saved searches, folders, history, annotations and more.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration and legislation. Business topics are covered, with emphasis on economic factors, industry surveys, business-societal interactions and similar issues, rather than details of business operations. (Coverage: 1915 --)
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Wall Street Journal) This link opens in a new window
Historical edition of the Wall Street Journal. (Coverage: 1889-12 years ago)
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Country studies, forecasting publications, periodicals, socio-economic reports as well as podcasts from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Topics covered include agriculture, developing economies, education, employment, energy, the environment, migration, social issues, and sustainable development.
