Applied Economics and Statistics

Contains nearly 300 reports and datasets from the economics agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. Most reports are text files that contain time-sensitive information. Most data sets are in spreadsheet format and include time-series data that are frequently updated. Includes state fact sheets and selectable subject searches by “key topics.”

Includes the latest (2007) Census of Agriculture in tabular and PDF form, and a Web version of “Agricultural Statistics,” the annual summary produced by the U.S. Department of Agriculture in paper and CD-ROM. The latter database contains basic text tables, PDF files and tables in spreadsheet format. A great deal of information is available at this site, arranged by broad subject divisions within the areas of farm economics, crops, and livestock.

Part of the National Resources Inventory & Analysis Institute Economics and Analysis Site for Natural Resources Conservation Service economists. Very useful for national and state information on specific crops, livestock operations, and enterprises. Includes the AAEA Commodity Costs and Returns Estimation Handbook and individual state Extension Service sample budget sites.

The Census of Agriculture is the leading source of facts and figures about American agriculture. Conducted every five years, the Census provides a detailed picture of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. It is the only source of uniform, comprehensive agricultural data for every state and county in the United States.

A lobbying group in Washington for protection of U.S. farmland and land stewardship. Included at this site is a link to a useful site on farmland protection and management, the Farmland Information Center, which “is a partnership between the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service and American Farmland Trust.”

A hub for research and information within the agricultural, food and environmental law field covering a wide array of topics from animal welfare to industrial hemp production. Resources include publications such as white papers, factsheets and factsheet series, issue briefs, state law compilations covering various topics, and more.

A not-for-profit association serving the professional interests of members working in agricultural and broadly related fields of applied economics

UK society which promotes the study and teaching of agricultural economics and relevant disciplines, and their application to issues in the agricultural, food and related industries, rural communities and the environment

A worldwide professional membership association of agricultural economists, whose mission is to promote the common business interests of economists having as a major focus of their work the study of the economics of agriculture