Useful Resources
How to Write a Good Scientific Paper by
This book is all about teaching the style and conventions of writing for a peer-reviewed scientific journal. From structure to style, titles to tables, abstracts to author lists, this book gives practical advice about the process of writing a paper and getting it published.
Call Number: Open Access from SPIE Digital LibraryISBN: 9781510619142Publication Date: 2018
Writing Science: How to Write Papers That Get Cited and Proposals That Get Funded by
Writing Science is built upon the idea that successful science writing tells a story. The book takes an integrated approach, using the principles of story structure to discuss every aspect of successful science writing, from the overall structure of a paper or proposal to individual sections, paragraphs, sentences, and words.
Call Number: Ebook CentralISBN: 9780199909513
A Short Guide to Writing about Chemistry by
This writing guide, by the author of Pearson's best-selling Short Guide to Writing about Biology along with two well-known chemists, teaches students to think as chemists and to express ideas clearly and concisely through their writing. Providing students with the tools they'll need to be successful writers, A Short Guide to Writing about Chemistry emphasizes writing as a way of examining, evaluating, and sharing ideas. The book teaches readers how to read critically, study, evaluate and report data, and how to communicate information clearly and logically. Students are also given detailed advice on locating, evaluating, and citing useful sources within the discipline; maintaining effective laboratory notebooks and writing laboratory reports; writing effective research proposals and reports; and communicating information to both professional and general audiences.
Call Number: QD8.5 .D38 2010ISBN: 9780205550609
- Creating Effective Poster Presentations, (2022) George Hess, Kathryn Tosney, and Leon Liegel
- Designing Effective Poster Presentations, (2022) Fred Stoss, University Libraries, University at Buffalo
- Preparing a Research Report, (2015) Guidelines, ACS Committee on Professional Training
Successful Lab Reports: A Manual for Science StudentsCall Number: Q183.A1 L63 1992ISBN: 9780521404044Shows science students how to write a clear and to the point laboratory report.
Writing Undergraduate Lab ReportsCall Number: T11 .L625 2017ISBN: 9781107117402Writing clear, impactful reports is a crucial skill for science students, but few books focus on this area for the undergraduate. Particularly useful for biology students, this text adopts a hands-on approach, using example reports and published papers as models to put guidance into practice...
Writing up Your University Assignments and Research ProjectsCall Number: LB2369 .M87x 2008ISBN: 9780335227174Academic writing can be a daunting prospect for new undergraduates and postgraduates alike, regardless of whether they are home or overseas students. This text provides students with all they need to know to produce excellent written work.
Writing the Laboratory Notebook by Call Number: Q180.58 .K36 1985ISBN: 9780841209060Discusses the vital aspects of how to make a proper and permanent record of research work. Goes beyond the mechanical of simply filling in the notebook pages with details on the skills needed to create proper records of research, observations, and results. Helps to increase awareness of what is being done in the lab and to develop a flexible style of notekeeping that will serve a variety of research environments.
- Article: Creative Report Writing in Undergraduate Organic Chemistry Laboratory Inspires NonmajorsAllowing students to be more creative while preparing the introduction of their research reports, a greater enthusiasm for the organic chemistry course is stimulated because students are able to relate to the seemingly irrelevant reactants and mechanisms.
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
An annual publication by Clarivate Analytics that analyzes, compares, and ranks scholarly and technical journals tracked in the Web of Science. Coverage includes virtually all disciplines in the areas of science, social sciences, and humanities. The report contains data on the citation performance of academic journals indexed in Web of Science, including information on the number of articles published, the number of times articles have been cited, the journal impact factor, and other citation metrics. JCR is a trusted source for finding journal ranking but it does not cover all journals. (Coverage: 1997 --)
- Annual Reviews RankingAnnual Reviews rankings in journal citation reports (Clarivate Analytics)
The ACS Style Guide by
Third Edition - provides insight on ethics in scientific communication, the editorial process, copyright, conventions in chemistry, grammar, punctuation, spelling, and writing style for any STM author, reviewer, or editor. Definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts.
Call Number: Print and eBook version availableISBN: 9780841239999Publication Date: 2006-07-20
Scientific Style and Format by
Provides authoritative recommendations on writing style and citation. Developed by the Council of Science Editors (CSE), this indispensable guide encompasses all areas of the sciences.
Call Number: T11 .S386 2014ISBN: 9780226116495Publication Date: 2014-05-07
- Citing Electronic Information (created by ipl2)
This site presents a collection of resources on citing electronic information. Note that although this site is now closed permanently (last updated in 2012), many of the links are still valid.
- Citing Medicine (National Library of Medicine)
Citing medicine: the NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers provides instructions and examples for formatting bibliographic citations for different types of published and unpublished materials. These materials range from traditional journal articles and books to electronic formats such as online journals, Web pages, and blog posts. Citing Medicine does not provide in-text citation styles..
If you have the DOI name (e.g., 10.1000/xyz123) of an article, type or paste it into the text box and click Go. Your browser will take you to a Web page (URL) associated with that DOI name.
- Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool - free online resource from CAS
Intended to support researchers and librarians, this tool can be used to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications. Search by Title, Abbreviation, CODEN, ISBN, or ISSN.
- Periodical Title Abbreviations - Gale Research Co.
Print book covering periodical title abbreviations in science, the social sciences, the humanities, law, medicine, religion, library science, engineering, education, business, art and many other fields. Morris Library - Z6945 .A2 P47