Research Guides: Biomedical Engineering: Databases

Key Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find journal articles, systematic reviews and meta-analyses from the health sciences area. Citations are from MEDLINE and other medical and life science journals
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary databases covering core journals in the fields of science, social science, arts and humanities. Use to find journal articles, conference papers and book chapters on a topic.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with broad coverage. Use this database to find journal articles, conference papers and book chapters on a topic.
Learn more about using Scopus at Elsevier's Scopus LibGuide..
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles and technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics disciplines
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Searches across research publications in optics and photonics.
Includes all SPIE proceedings papers published from 1962 to date and all articles from the SPIE's 10 journals.
Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
A research solution dedicated to protocols and methods, Experiments has been designed to help users/researchers find and evaluate relevant protocols and methods across Nature Methods, Nature Protocols and SpringerProtocols.
JoVE Video Journal This link opens in a new window
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed video journal dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through video demonstrations. Sections include Biology, Bioengineering, and Neuroscience.

Other helpful databases

ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window Use this database to find industry information. Coverage includes business journals, trade magazines and newspapers.
- This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window Coverage of life sciences research across all subject areas, including traditional areas of biology (botany, zoology, and microbiology) alongside related and interdisciplinary fields (agriculture, biochemistry, bioengineering, biomedical, biophysics, biotechnology, ecology, medicine, and pharmacology)
- This link opens in a new window
A subset database within Web of Science.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window The database contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window Use this database to find information about chemicals, pharmaceuticals, materials and other types of substances. "Research Topic" searching covers journal articles, book chapters, patents, dissertations and conference papers for all areas of pure and applied chemistry. Other sections available for finding reactions, property data, and chemical suppliers.
- This link opens in a new window
Databases included: CAplus (Chemical Abstracts), REGISTRY, CASREACT (chemical reactions database), CHEMCATS (commercially available chemical information), CHEMLIST (regulated chemical information), and MEDLINE (biomedical literature worldwide).
Coverage:
- CAplus: 1907 to date, plus over 44,000 records for journal articles dated before 1907
- MEDLINE: 1950 to date
- REGISTRY: 1957 to date, plus many substances dating back to 1907
- CASREACT: 1840 to date
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Full-text literature for sports and sports medicine. Provides extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health, physical therapy, exercise science and other sport studies. (Coverage: 1930 --)
- This link opens in a new window