Business Research Basics

Welcome! This research guide was created to support you as you get started with basic business research. Business research is the process of gathering and analyzing information related to business.

Use the menu tabs to explore recommended library databases and online sources for finding business information, including articles, news, data, and reports.

This guide introduces key resources and strategies for conducting business research, including company research, industry analysis, market and consumer insights, and financial data. It also highlights tools for finding business articles, raw data, and other information.

For more advanced or subject-specific business resources, visit our specialized business guides.

Need help or more information?

Please reach out! You can contact me using the Send me a message link or chat with any librarian through Ask the Library. For more assistance from the Library or UD, please visit the Help section of this guide.

"resorting to paper... #research# #proposal" by catherinecronin is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0 .

Business research can take many forms, depending on the goals of the researcher or the needs of the project. Common types include:

• Company Research - Gathering information about a specific company’s performance, strategy, leadership, and structure.

• Industry Research - Understanding the competitive landscape, market trends, and operating conditions within a particular industry.

• Market and Consumer Research - Exploring target audiences, consumer behavior, and product demand to inform business decisions or new ventures.

• Financial and Investment Research -  Analyzing financial statements, stock performance, investment activity, and funding history.

• Data-Driven Research - Using statistics, economic indicators, and datasets to support analysis, forecasting, or benchmarking.

• Scholarly and Trade Literature - Finding academic research, professional insights, and current events related to business topics.

Each type of research requires different tools, approaches, and strategies. Use the links above or menu tabs to explore resources and methods for each type of research.

Not sure where to begin? Here are a few ways to get started:

1. Explore the Business Research Basics guide sections based on what kind of information you're looking for.
2. Use the Top Sources page to find the most commonly used databases and other sources.
3. Learn how to use business databases like Business Source Premier, Mergent Intellect, and IBISWorld.
4. Reach out to the Business Data and Entrepreneurship Librarian for research help or to schedule a consultation.
5. Visit the Help page for campus support options and library services.

New to using library resources?

Here are some basic terms that will hopefully help as you get started!

• Library Catalog - The online search tool for books, ebooks, and other materials the library owns.
  • I like to think of the catalog like Google, but just for the library’s collection. It searches nearly everything the library has access to.
    • Example: DELCAT
• Database -  An online collection of information you can search.
  • I like to think of databases as a massive Google Drive with many folders and files.
    • Example: Business Source Premier, where you can find articles, reports, and case studies about companies and industries.
• Journal - A publication that comes out regularly, like a magazine, but for research or professional news.
  • I like to think of it like one folder in Google Drive with many files inside.
    • Examples: Harvard Business Review (professional/trade), Journal of Marketing (scholarly).
• Article - A single piece of writing published in a journal, magazine, or newspaper.
  • I like to think of it like a single Google Doc or Sheet in a folder.
    • Example: An article in Harvard Business Review about business strategies.
• Keyword - The main word or phrase you use when searching.
  • It kind of reminds me of a hashtag or trending topic link that helps find what you’re looking for.
    • Examples: “Starbucks” (one word keyword), “fast food industry” (keyword phrase).
    • If you are searching for a phrase, put it in quotation marks, otherwise the platform you are using might break up the phrase into single words
• Citation - The details that tell you where an article, report, or other material came from (so it will share the author, title, journal name, date, etc.).
  • It is like an academic version of a credit line or byline, or like when you hit the share button online and it shows the original source/creator.
    • Guide to citing sources

Search Tips

When searching most library databases, try using keywords or short phrases instead of full sentences.

Example: You are looking for information about a company’s supply chain issues

DO search: 

• Adidas AND "supply chain"
• "supply chain disruptions" AND "footwear industry"

DO NOT search (unless using an AI tool): 

• What supply chain problems has Nike experienced over the past few years?

• How did the pandemic affect the supply chain for shoe companies?

If you want to keep a phrase together, place it in quotation marks. You can also use connectors like AND, OR, and NOT to help the database understand what you’re looking for.

AI Searches: Some databases now offer AI search features, where you can use natural language or ask full questions. These tools are usually labeled clearly (often with an AI chat box, sparkle, or robot icon). It is okay to use longer questions/sentences when you see these features.

Need help or more information?

Please reach out! You can contact me using the Send me a message link or chat with any librarian through Ask the Library. For more assistance from the Library or UD, please visit the Help section of this guide.