Research Guides: Business Research Basics: Market and Consumer Research

Consumer Data and Market Behavior

Data USA
Data USA is a visualization engine for shared U.S. government data from multiple U.S. sources. Allows users to browse and filter information and create visualizations to enhance their understanding of national, regional, and local issues.
Passport
You must be a current UD student, faculty, or staff member to use this database. A valid UDNetID and password are required.
A global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers.
Reference Solutions
A source for business and residential data in the United States.
Statista
Data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest and markets.

Pew Research Center
Nonpartisan research on social trends, technology, politics, and consumer behavior.
Statistical Abstracts Series
Ceased publication in 2012, but it was published annually from 1878-2011, and included information on social, political and economic conditions in the U.S.

APA PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, mental health and related disciplines. (Coverage: 1806 --)
PolicyMap
Cloud based Geographic Information System (GIS). Provides access to thousands of demographic indicators across a wide range of geographies, as well as school districts, HUD neighborhoods, and political boundaries. Facilitates the analyses of large amounts of data and quickly displays the data through maps, tables, charts, and reports.

PolicyMap includes both publicly-available and proprietary data. Refer to the detailed Data Directory for sources, years of data available, and geographic coverage.

A PolicyMap Tutorial is available.

Consumer Expenditure Surveys Search Consumer Expenditure Surveys
The Consumer Expenditure Surveys (CE) program provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States. The CE program provides these data in tables, LABSTAT database, news releases, reports, and public use microdata files.