Research Guides: Business Research Basics: Company Research

Research a Company

BCC Research
In-depth market research reports covering the technology, science, and healthcare sectors.
After clicking link:
- Click on the "Member Login" button in the top, right-hand corner of the screen
- Select the "IP AUTHENTICATE" option in the bottom, right-hand corner of the pop-up box
Funding for this resource is provided by the University's Office of Economic Innovation and Partnerships and Horn Entrepreneurship.
Business Source Premier
Full-text for thousands of journals, covering all disciplines of business. (Coverage: Varies according to journal, some back to 1922.)
Gale Business Insights
Full-text company and industry intelligence on global corporations.

Searches can be done on company name or ticker symbol, industry code/description (SIC or NAICS), subjects in article, geographic search, or personal name. Searches can be limited by journal name, date range, or content area.
IBISWorld Industry Reports
U.S. industry market research and industry risk ratings. Contains trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. Includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance.

All reports in this collection are updated between 1 and 4 times a year.
Mergent Intellect
Provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles.

Residential Search: Find address and other contact information on individuals.
Demographics Search: Demographic reports on a geographic area of your choice. Data includes statistics on the area's population, including age, race, gender, income and more.
Mergent Market Atlas
Access to a multitude of company, industry, country, index, ESG and economic data displays and reports.
Nexis Uni
Full-text information from news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Though not required, you have the option to create a personal account that will give you access to special features such as alerts, saved searches, folders, history, annotations and more.

Vendor Lyrasis. Publisher LexisNexis.
Passport
You must be a current UD student, faculty, or staff member to use this database. A valid UDNetID and password are required.
A global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers.
PitchBook
You must be a current UD student, faculty, or staff member to use this database. A valid UDNetID and password are required.
Includes company profiles, news and data for private equity, venture capital, and mergers and acquisitions research.
Funding for this resource is provided by the University's Office of Economic Innovation and Partnerships and Horn Entrepreneurship.

Company and Industry Information

EDGAR
Official source for public company filings, including annual and quarterly reports.
NAICS Association
Search and NAICS industry classification codes used in business research and government reporting.
Small Business Administration (SBA)
Tools, statistics, and guides for small business owners and entrepreneurs.

Gale Directory Library
This collection consists of seven online directories.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
- Encyclopedia of Associations International Organizations
- Encyclopedia of Associations National Organizations of the U.S.
- Encyclopedia of Associations Regional, State and Local Organizations of the U.S.
- Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources
- International Research Centers Directory
- Research Centers Directory
Mergent Market Atlas
Access to a multitude of company, industry, country, index, ESG and economic data displays and reports.
Reference Solutions
A source for business and residential data in the United States.

Business News and Trends

Nexis Uni
Full-text information from news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Though not required, you have the option to create a personal account that will give you access to special features such as alerts, saved searches, folders, history, annotations and more.

Vendor Lyrasis. Publisher LexisNexis.
Business Source Premier
Full-text for thousands of journals, covering all disciplines of business. (Coverage: Varies according to journal, some back to 1922.)
Wall Street Journal (wsj.com)
Digital edition of the Wall Street Journal. Includes the same articles and images that appear in the print edition, plus additional resources such as video, audio, graphics, and data. Available editions: U.S., Asia, Europe, India. (Coverage: 4 years ago --)
NOTE: You must login to your account once every 90 days in order for it to remain active.
Registration Instructions
*If you already have a personal membership to the WSJ, call 1-800-JOURNAL and to inform the WSJ that you are switching to the membership provided by the University of Delaware.*
- Step 1: Click on this link: http://wsj.com/udel. You will be prompted to login to the UD Central Authentication Service (CAS)
- Step 2: Fill out the form, then click Create. When you have completed the form and clicked Create. You will see “Redemption Successful.”
- Step 3: Check your email inbox for a confirmation receipt.
- Step 4: You are now a registered user of The Wall Street Journal Digital Edition. Access it anytime, anywhere at https://www.wsj.com/ by signing in with your email address and password.