Research Guides: Business Research Basics: Industry Research

Research an Industry

IBISWorld Industry Reports
U.S. industry market research and industry risk ratings. Contains trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. Includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance.

All reports in this collection are updated between 1 and 4 times a year.
Mergent Intellect
Provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles.

Residential Search: Find address and other contact information on individuals.
Demographics Search: Demographic reports on a geographic area of your choice. Data includes statistics on the area's population, including age, race, gender, income and more.
Mergent Market Atlas
Access to a multitude of company, industry, country, index, ESG and economic data displays and reports.
Passport
You must be a current UD student, faculty, or staff member to use this database. A valid UDNetID and password are required.
A global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers.
Reference Solutions
A source for business and residential data in the United States.
Statista
Data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest and markets.

International Monetary Fund (IMF)
Macroeconomic data on global economies, balance of payments, and financial markets.
UN Comtrade
The United Nations Comtrade database aggregates detailed global annual and monthly trade statistics by product and trading partner for use by governments, academia, research institutes, and enterprises.
USA Trade Online
Database from the U.S. Dept. of Commerce that includes reports and statistical series for and trade-related information.
World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to global economic, development, and demographic data by country.
World Integrated Trade Solution - WITS
The World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS) software provides access to international merchandise trade, tariff and non-tariff measures (NTM) data. Browse the Country profile section to obtain countries exports, imports and tariff statistics along with relevant development data.
The World Trade Organization (WTO)
The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. At its heart are the WTO agreements, negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world’s trading nations and ratified in their parliaments. The goal is to ensure that trade flows as smoothly, predictably and freely as possible.

Congressional Budget Office (CBO)
Economic and policy analysis of federal budget and spending.
Federal Trade Commission (FTC)
Information on consumer protection, competition, and business regulation.
Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)
Rules, reports, and regulatory updates related to public companies and U.S. financial markets.

American Marketing Association (AMA)
Marketing trends, research, and career resources.
National Association for Business Economics (NABE)
Economic and financial news, events, and career resources for applied economists.
National Small Business Association
Advocacy group for small businesses in the U.S.. Offers reports, policy updates, and survey data on small business trends, economic challenges, and legislative issues impacting entrepreneurs.