Video Resources in the Library
The Film and Video Collection, on the lower level of the Library, contains videos, documentaries and popular titles. To look for a specific title, check DELCAT Discovery (e.g., ti=color purple). Limit the search to videos.
- Film Finders - Special Topics- FASHIONThis expertly curated list of films available in the Library's Film & Video Collection was created as part of the exhibit "Spotlight on Fashion", on view Spring 2019.
Media Databases (Alexander Street Press)
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of tens of thousands of videos spanning a wide range of subject areas such as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, and music. More
- American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos related to American history, including commercial and governmental newsreels, archival and public affairs footage, and documentaries. Includes content from Newsreel Films, Documentary Educational Resources, PBS, The History Channel, NASA, NARA, and Universal Newsreel. Covers the discovery of the Americas to the late 20th century.
Sample Streaming Video Collections from Academic Video Online
- Academic Video Online: Fashion Studies
This collection will bring together videos that retrace the history of fashion, clothing, and costume worldwide. Students and researchers can access a remarkable collection covering the major fashion weeks in Milan, Paris, New York and London, as well as Miami swim and New York bridal collections. Topical segments visit events like the Met's Costume Exhibits, CFDA Awards, and feature interviews with top designers, models, and celebrities of the fashion world.
- Academic Video Online: Environmental Studies
This collection contains films covering all realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science. The collection addresses specific topics including alternative energy, pollution control, eco-design, sustainability, farming and agriculture, the food industry, LEED certification, waste issues, and climate change.