RefWorks
Databases for Getting Started
The following databases are good places to begin research on topics relating to Latin American Studies.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThis database provides references, abstracts, or entire articles from more than 8,000 scholarly and general interest periodicals.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowContains the complete text of major newspapers published throughout the world since the 1970s. Included are Spanish and Portuguese language newspapers.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowA database comprised of statistical tables and references to other statistical sources.
- Library of Congress Federal Research Division: Country StudiesIndividual country studies that provide overviews and social, economic, and political analysis.
Latin American Studies Databases
Databases can be the most efficient way to locate research on a topic. Some databases organize information on articles that are published within many, different journals. The following databases have a special focus on Latin America:
- Caribbean Literature This link opens in a new windowA searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries
- Clase and Periodica This link opens in a new windowClase (1975 to present) indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. Periodica (1978 to present) covers journals specializing in science and technology.
- HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary bibliography of published material on Latin America, 1935 to the present.
- Latin American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowMore than 35 nineteenth- and early twentieth-century Latin American newspapers. Titles are from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere.
- Informe Academico This link opens in a new windowProvides a wide range of full-text Spanish and Portuguese language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America.
- World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean This link opens in a new windowPrimary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean and more.
- Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library of resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean.
- Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)A comprehensive information service for Latin America on the Internet.
- Latin American PamphletsScarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries that are located in Harvard's Widener Library.
- Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP)LAPOP, a Vanderbuilt University project, presents databases containing political perspectives and public opinion surveys from Latin America.
- Linking the AmericasA Stanford University project that offers more than one hundred Latin American Studies titles from the Stanford University Press and rare published and archival materials from the Stanford University Libraries Special Collections.
Databases Related to Latin American Studies
There are many databases that are useful for the study of various aspects of Latin American Studies. The following are the ones most frequently consulted, but researchers should also consult the Library Databases page to determine whether there are other discipline-specific databases that are suitable for their given research topic. For example, researchers pursuing topics related to the economic policy of a specific Latin American country could also consult business and economics databases such as EconLit or General BusinessFile ASAP.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts to publications on the history of the United States and Canada, with some links to full text
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new windowFull-text biographical information on people from all times and areas
- Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new windowBiographical information on people from all times and areas: citations, with some abstracts and full text
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new windowFull-text resources on international affairs
- Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCoverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowIndexed bibliography, with selected abstracts, of publications on economics
- Ethnologue: Languages of the World This link opens in a new windowComprehensively catalogs all of the world's known living languages
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowFull text of articles on women's studies and gender issues
- General OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts to publications on the history of all countries except the United States and Canada, with some links to full text
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowBiographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles in scholarly journals and books on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries This link opens in a new window
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations, with abstracts, to journal articles on sociology and related disciplines
- Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro This link opens in a new windowFull text of dramatic works from Spain
- World News Connection This link opens in a new windowTranslated and English-language news and information compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources