Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Media for Courses
- Streaming media is best used for distance education scenarios or for individual, asynchronous viewing. Streaming titles should be checked prior to syllabus finalization, especially if it was created during a prior semester. (Licensing terms for most streaming media is only available on a temporary basis. Expiration dates are included in DELCAT Discovery records.)
- Use of longform streaming media for in-person classroom screenings is generally not recommended. Network issues and other technological variables can lead to inconsistent playback, and resizing the image to fit a large screen can cause image degradation. Please test for quality prior to in-person classroom screenings.
- Physical media is generally the most reliable option for classroom screenings. You may make prior arrangements to schedule media for future use.
- The Library's DVD / Blu-ray / eVideo etc. collection is searchable via DELCAT Discovery. You can search for physical media and streaming titles via the Film & Video Collection homepage.
- If you are an instructor seeking more information about incorporating streaming media into a course, please visit Teaching Online with Media Content via Film & Video or contact Film & Video for assistance.
- If the Library does not own the film you wish to screen, please contact Film & Video and the Film & Video Librarian will research its availability. Please allow as much time as possible for this process.
Media & Copyright
The following links provide general information regarding copyright and intellectual property, as well as information specific to media.
Media Database: JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)
JoVE Science Education
This video collection is designed to better teach and learn key concepts and fundamental techniques in a wide range of STEM subjects including Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Psychology, Clinical Medicine and Engineering.
JoVE Video Journal
This database is a peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video methods journal. Articles consist of high-quality video demonstrations and detailed text protocols in the physical and life sciences. The scope of the journal includes novel techniques, innovative applications of existing techniques, and gold standard protocols in the physical and life sciences.
Media Database: SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods
This database features a video component that covers aspects of research skills training in the social sciences and guides students through steps of the research process. It contains 480+ titles, 120+ hours of content and includes a 15-hour introductory statistics course.
If you are seeking information about the Library's Film & Video Collection, please visit the Film & Video Collection webpage and / or the Film Studies Research Guide. The Media Research Guide is intended to serve as a guide to media content available online, and does not include information about video content available in physical format to Library patrons on Blu-ray, DVD, VHS, film, etc. You may search for both Library-licensed eVideos and physical media content via DELCAT Discovery.
The subject pages linked via the tabs above are freely available via the Internet, and do not require University of Delaware affiliation for access.
Below are links to subscription media databases which require UD user authentication. Please note: many of the resources in these databases are also accessible via DELCAT Discovery. When using these links, you may be prompted for your UDel NetID and password. If you encounter problems accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books, please visit the How to Connect to the University of Delaware Library page or use the Ask the Library service for assistance.
If you are an instructor seeking information about incorporating streaming media into a course, please visit Teaching Online with Media Content via Film & Video or use the Email Me button in the box to your right for assistance.
Media Database: Docuseek Complete Collection (Docuseek platform)
Docuseek Complete Collection (Docuseek platform)
Docuseek provides access to contemporary social issues documentaries in a variety of disciplines, including environmental sciences, political and social sciences, history, health, psychology, and more. In addition to Women Make Movies, the collection includes films from other high-quality distributors such as Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films, Kartemquin Films, and the National Film Board of Canada.
The Library provides access to the most current (3rd edition) of the Docuseek Complete Collection.
Media Database: Global Environmental Justice Collection
Docuseek's Global Environmental Justice Collection
The GEJ Collection explores human rights and environmental protection issues triggered by inequality, global development and climate change. The films are selected by faculty and are supported by teaching guides. The project launched with films focusing on under-reported stories from Asia and North America and will add stories from other regions over time.
The Global Environmental Justice Collection is part of the Docuseek Complete Collection, also available through the University of Delaware Library. The GEJ Collection contains 35 films as of July 2021, and will be accessible through 6/30/2024.
Media Databases: Alexander Street Press
Alexander Street Press (ASP) databases allow users to create playlists of videos within the database, or clips from videos, which can be shared with others. Users can create playlists containing various types of documents, images, whole videos, tracks, segments (clips) and/or other items such as links to any URL. Playlists can be annotated, edited, copied, shared, and all playlists contain their own unique static URL which can be incorporated into course management systems. Playlists can be used as lists of personal favorites, class viewing/listening assignments, or as a teaching resource for in-class use.
Academic Video Online (AVON)
A multidisciplinary collection of more than 70,000 videos spanning numerous subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more.
American History in Video
A collection of 8,000+ videos available online for the study of American history. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Docuseek Complete Collection (Alexander Street Press platform)
Specializing in social issue and documentary film, covering topics such as environmental studies, healthcare, political science, social sciences, the arts and journalism. Provides exclusive educational streaming video to over 1,800 titles from Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films.
Theatre in Video
Includes over 550 hours of performances of the world’s leading plays and related documentaries, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors, including 30 BBC Shakespeare productions.
National Theatre Collection
Contains 30 performances by the UK’s National Theatre, including digitized archival materials such as photographs, scripts and costume designs which provide behind-the-scenes background and contextual information.
Media Database: Swank Digital Campus
Swank Digital Campus
A collection of 1000+ classic and current feature films.
Please note: Films provided by Swank are not viewable with the Safari browser. If you have problems viewing these films, please update your (non-Safari) browser. If you continue to have problems, please contact the Film & Video Librarian via the 'Email Me' button on this page.
Media Database: Kanopy Collection
Kanopy titles are licensed for 1- or 3-year increments, and occasionally in perpetuity. To see when licenses are set to expire for eVideo content, you may search DELCAT Discovery for the title and scroll down to the 'Access Online' section of the record. Click 'Access Online' and 'Notes & License Terms' to view the title's expiration date (reach out to the Film & Video Collection Librarian if your class requires an extension):
Videos readily viewable via the Kanopy link have been requested by instructors for course support. If you are an instructor and plan to teach with a title found on Kanopy but which is not viewable, please contact the Film & Video Collection Librarian via the Email Me button on this page.
International students who are having difficulties accessing Library-provided materials (including media) may try using the University of Delaware's full tunnel VPN (Virtual Private Network). UD IT provides information on full tunnel VPN.
Please Note: There are a limited number of full tunnel VPN licenses available to UD students and staff at a given time. It should only be used when necessary. Additionally, please be aware that some countries try to intermittently block full tunnel VPN.
Media in Distance Classes
If you are an instructor who is interested in incorporating streaming media into your distance education courses, please explore the documentaries and programs available within the databases found on this page. These databases provide features that are helpful in distance education settings, such as the ability to share videos via Course Management Systems, create custom playlists, and utilize clip-making tools. You may also find many videos freely available using the subject area tabs above.
You may also be interested in the following resources:
FAQ: Library Resources in Distance Classes
Library Services for Online Distance Learning
Streaming Media Meta-Search
This freely-available site indexes consumer-based streaming media platforms (such as Netflix, Hulu, iTunes, etc.), allowing users to search where films and television series may be available via digital rental or subscription.
Media Database: Videatives
This collection of short video clips demonstrates scenarios in child development and education. Each video is accompanied by supporting, explanatory text. Videos can be browsed by subject and age of child.
Media Database: Media Education Foundation
Media Education Foundation (MEF) Collection
Films in the Media Education Foundation (MEF) Collection encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media with a special focus on representations of gender and race, and the effect these representations have on identity and culture.
Media Database: BBC Shakespeare Plays
BBC Shakespeare Plays
This collection includes streaming video of 37 Shakespeare plays. Produced by Cedric Messina and Dr. Jonathan Miller, it includes performances by Britain's most distinguished theatrical talent including John Gielgud, Ben Kingsley, Claire Bloom, Anthony Hopkins, Michael York, and Derek Jacobi.