Finding Data
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowThis database provides a standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. Footnotes and explanatory information provide instructional information about the data and sources of the data. Users can graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting particular areas of interest.
- Roper iPOLL This link opens in a new windowPublic opinion data from The Roper Center, the largest archives of public opinion information. iPOLL is a comprehensive database of questions and answers asked in the US since 1935. Most of the major survey research organizations that have done work in the areas of social and political research in the United States are represented in iPOLL.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowOECD iLibrary is the Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. This database contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD, International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowPolicyMap is a cloud based data and mapping platform that facilitates the analyses of large amounts of data and quickly displays the data through maps, tables, charts and reports. PolicyMap enables users to create maps and provides access to more than 37,000 indicators related to demographics, income/spending, housing, lending, quality of life, economy, education, health, jobs, crime, and education. The data is available across a wide range of geographies (address, block groups, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) in addition to school districts, HUD neighborhoods, and political boundaries.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowProQuest Statistical Insight provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is a statistics portal integrating over 80,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 18,000 sources onto a single platform. Categorized into over 21 market sectors, Statista provides access to relevant and quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Data sources include market research reports, such as the Ipsos Affluent Survey published annually by Ipsos Media, Simmons National Consumer Studies and Consumer Insights from Scarborough Research, as well as trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowA searchable version of every edition of Statistical Abstracts from 1878-present.
- Dataset Search: GoogleDataset Search is a search engine for datasets. Using a simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.
- ICPSR Data PortalAn international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
- IPUMSIPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.
- National JournalThe National Journal provides daily analysis on Hill procedures and updates. In the Race Tracker section, you can track election poll data and campaign finance information. In the Almanac section, you can find biographies on politicians. The National Journal is an immensely rich resource that is worth exploring if you are looking for information on Congress.
- World BankDatasets available - international coverage.