Research Guides: Political Science & International Relations: Government Research

Government Research

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text information from news, business, & legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Though not required, you have the option to create a personal account that will give you access to special features such as alerts, saved searches, folders, history, annotations & more.
Vendor Lyrasis. Publisher LexisNexis.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline Academic is the world’s largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains extensive coverage of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and more than 2,400 scholarly journals. The Government, Politics & Law package offers special collections on Criminal Justice in America, Religion and the Law, Women and the Law, Slavery in America and the World and more.
Contains thousdand of law-related journals on a variety of subjects, all dating back to inception with over 90% available through the current issue or volume. Subject related collections are often curated & made available.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
A research service that combines a breadth of news & business information with in depth law-related information.
Includes:
- Current and archival coverage of newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, wires, and trade journals.
- Company Investigator, an authoritative source for researching and gaining insight on more than 30 million public and private companies.
- Topical categories to refine searches and obtain more precise results.
- Expert analysis from hundreds of law reviews and journals, encyclopedias, and treatises.
- Full-text legislation, regulations, and court decisions.
- Integrated research tools, such as template searching, headnotes, case synopses, West Key Number System®, KeyCite®, and hypertext linking to related documents.

National Conference for State Legislators
The nation's most respected bipartisan organization providing states support, ideas, connections and a strong voice on Capitol Hill.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher Plus Archive explores a single “hot” issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. PDF files are available for full issues dating back to January 1996; for issues published since January 2001, PDF files are in color.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
Archive of 20th Century news from around the world.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline Academic is the world’s largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains extensive coverage of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and more than 2,400 scholarly journals. The Government, Politics & Law package offers special collections on Criminal Justice in America, Religion and the Law, Women and the Law, Slavery in America and the World and more.
Contains thousdand of law-related journals on a variety of subjects, all dating back to inception with over 90% available through the current issue or volume. Subject related collections are often curated & made available.
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Open Access. Collection of documents, audio & visual resources, & analyses related to homeland security policy & strategy. Supports local, state & federal analysis & decision-making needs, & assists academics of all disciplines in research relating to homeland defense & security. Provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, & national strategy documents, as well as specialized resources such as theses & research reports from various universities, organizations, & local & state agencies.
The HSDL is part of the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense & Security & is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to United States legislative information. Learn more about this database.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
House & Senate Documents & Reports, constituting a rich set of primary source documents. Covers a variety of topics & may include reports of executive departments & independent organizations, reports of special investigations, etc. (Coverage: 1817-1994)
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set is bound by session of Congress. It began publication with the 15th Congress, 1st Session (1817). Documents before 1817 are found in the American State Papers, which can be accessed via the A-Z Databases page. The Serial Set does not include Congressional hearings & debates.
House & Senate Reports are usually from congressional committees dealing with proposed legislation & issues under investigation. They include all other papers ordered printed by the House or Senate. Documents cover a wide variety of topics & may include reports of executive departments & independent organizations, reports of special investigations made for Congress, & annual reports of non-governmental organizations. During the late 19th & early 20th centuries, Executive branch materials were also published in the Serial Set.
After 1994, GPO & the Library of Congress provide digital access to most of the continuing Serial Set materials.
It is possible to search the U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps directly.
This collection can also be searched on Readex AllSearch, an integrated platform that combines Readex’s primary sources into a single cross-searchable interface.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
A research service that combines a breadth of news & business information with in depth law-related information.
Includes:
- Current and archival coverage of newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, wires, and trade journals.
- Company Investigator, an authoritative source for researching and gaining insight on more than 30 million public and private companies.
- Topical categories to refine searches and obtain more precise results.
- Expert analysis from hundreds of law reviews and journals, encyclopedias, and treatises.
- Full-text legislation, regulations, and court decisions.
- Integrated research tools, such as template searching, headnotes, case synopses, West Key Number System®, KeyCite®, and hypertext linking to related documents.

National Journal
The National Journal provides daily analysis on Hill procedures and updates. In the Race Tracker section, you can track election poll data and campaign finance information. In the Almanac section, you can find biographies on politicians. The National Journal is an immensely rich resource that is worth exploring if you are looking for information on Congress.
Congress.gov
The website for U.S. government legislative information. Provides information on how the legislative process works.
govinfo (GPO)
A-Z listings of all documents from the United States Government Publishing Office.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistics portal integrating over 80,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 18,000 sources onto a single platform. You can find country profiles here as well that are frequently updated with new information.
Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for theory & research in international affairs. Each section of CIAO is updated with new material regularly.
CIAO is divided into the following categories: working papers, conference proceedings, journals (i.e., abstracts of journal articles), books, policy briefs, economic indicators, links & resources, schedule of events, & maps & country data.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Has country profiles in addition to research related to business and marketing.
Chatham House Online Archive This link opens in a new window
Publications & archives & audio recordings of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House), the world-leading independent international affairs policy institute founded in 1920. (Coverage: 20th-21st centuries)
Key areas include: diplomacy & international relations, energy, environment & development, international economics, trade & business, international & national politics, international security & law, & global health security.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Country studies, forecasting publications, periodicals, socio-economic reports as well as podcasts from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development. Topics covered include agriculture, developing economies, education, employment, energy, the environment, migration, social issues, & sustainable development.

UN iLibrary
The official library for the United Nations - it has speeches, reports, maps, and more.
CIA: The World Factbook
Country Profiles

Political Science & International Relations

UD is a Federal Depository

Related Guides

Government Research