Finding Articles at UD
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An index to the world’s public and social policy literature in the fields of business, economics, local and federal government, political science, international relations, finance, and other social sciences. Includes public policy literature in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish—periodicals, books, and government documents. - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new windowColumbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It includes a wide range of scholarship, such as working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. Each section of CIAO is updated with new material regularly. Working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, and economic indicators are augmented every month. Links and resources, the schedule of events, and the response files are updated weekly. New journal issues and books are added as they become available.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world’s leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including Nature, The Economist, and The New York Times, in PDF andHTML full-text formats. In addition, thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning are also available. - Chatham House Online Archive This link opens in a new windowChatham House Online Archive contains the publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House), the world-leading independent international affairs policy institute founded in 1920 following the Paris Peace Conference.
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline Academic is the world’s largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains extensive coverage of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents. Coverage of United States government publications is comprehensive back to inception, and all titles are exact replicas of the official print publication from the Government Printing Office. A large assortment of international resources are also available.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of more than 2,000 journals and more than 25,000 books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Included are peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, and academic monographs. JSTOR includes material in more than 75 disciplines including area studies, the arts, business and economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine and allied health, science and mathematics, and the social sciences.
- LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LegalTrac provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources with an interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowCountry studies, forecasting publications, periodicals, socio-economic reports as well as podcasts from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development. Topics covered include agriculture, developing economies, education, employment, energy, the environment, migration, social issues, & sustainable development.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes abstracts of journal articles selected from over 1,700 serial publications, abstracts of conference papers, relevant dissertation listings, etc. Covers sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. - Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Includes sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature.
Journals give you the ability to search for articles on a specific topic or event. It can be an easier way to find relevant information because you are usually not sifting through a large pool of results. If you visit the E-Journals page, you can bring up a list of all the journals with subject content in "Law, Politics, & Government." You can also search for a specific journal title from the E-Journals page or in DELCAT.
- Project MUSE Journals This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. MUSE is a trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world’s leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch is a comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. It is a collection of more than 700,000 full-text articles from over 200 publications. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and more than 100,000 articles in Spanish, Ethnic NewsWatch provides a rich collection of articles, editorials, and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives often at variance with the mainstream media.
- New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new windowThe New York Times online includes the same articles and feature text and images that appear in the print edition, but also an array of additional resources including images, videos, audio, graphics, and data content. Crosswords are not included in this NYTimes.com Group Pass subscription. Coverage: Limited access to 1923-1980; Full access from 1981 to the present
- Opinion Archives This link opens in a new windowA suite of public opinion magazines: American Spectator, Commentary, Commonweal, Harpers Magazine, NACLA (North American Congress on Latin America), The Nation, The National Review, The New Republic, New York Review of Books, Orion, and Washington Monthly. Coverage varies for each publication.
- Washington Post Online This link opens in a new windowThe Washington Post (often referred to as TWP or WaPo) covers national and global news, politics and national security, business and technology, arts and entertainment, sports, and local and regional news. Sections include a range of topical areas — education, climate and environment, science, health, immigration, and more. TWP‘s investigative journalists cover a range of issues of national and international importance, and opinion columnists focus on politics, economics, culture, international news and other topics.
- Wall Street Journal (wsj.com) This link opens in a new windowThe Wall Street Journal online includes the same articles and feature text and images that appear in the print edition, but also an array of additional resources including images, videos, audio, graphics, and data content.
- World News Connection Archive This link opens in a new windowWorld News Connection is an online news service that offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, including news agencies, newspapers, and radio and television stations. The information is obtained from full text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports, covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowGlobal Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s. It featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format. U.S., Canadian, and international newspapers are included.
Tips & Tricks for Searching for Articles
Finding articles within databases and journals is not the same process you would use to conduct a search in Google or an internet search engine. You cannot type in a question, but rather need to choose specific keywords and phrases to find results. These tips are similar to how you would search for material in DELCAT.
Helpful Ways to Search:
- Use quotations around a phrase to "tell" the database or journal that you want these words to remain together.
- Ex: "American exceptionalism"
- Think of synonyms to your keywords.
- Ex: World War I; First World War; The Great War - All would give you different results!
- Use AND/OR to connect words, concepts, and phrases together to receive specified results.
- Ex: Conspiracy Theory AND Coronavirus
Use the Advanced Search option in databases and journals to narrow down by date, region, type of document, and more!