Legal Resources
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline Academic is the world’s largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains extensive coverage of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and more than 2,400 scholarly journals. The Government, Politics & Law package offers special collections on Criminal Justice in America, Religion and the Law, Women and the Law, Slavery in America and the World and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis database consists of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Currently available are the complete digitized backfiles of over 1000 scholarly journals, organized in various “collections”. The “law collection” provides high-quality journals that serve researchers and students in fields that rely on law journals to support their research.
- LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Students, law school faculty and legal researchers will all find the legal publications they need in LegalTrac. Drawing on a wide variety of the most highly regarded legal publications, LegalTrac provides indexing for approximately 875 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Each title included in LegalTrac is selected on the basis of criteria provided by a special advisory committee of the American Association of Law Libraries. LegalTrac also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFaculty and students can use LexisNexis Academic to find both primary and secondary legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes. Federal court decisions include: U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Appellate Courts and U.S. District Courts from their inception plus specialty courts such as U.S. Bankruptcy and U.S. Tax Courts. State court decisions, court rules, and attorneys general opinions from all 50 states and territories are also included. This database also provides access to state codes and constitutions as well as federal regulations, including Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations. LexisNexis Academic also provides Shepard’s® Citations Service.
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowWestlaw Campus Research is a research service that combines a breadth of news and business information with in depth law-related information.
- Westlaw Patron Access This link opens in a new window**On campus use only. Limited to 5 users at a time**
Westlaw Patron Access provides access to primary materials from both federal and state courts. Information includes cases, statutes, regulations, briefs, dockets, legal forms, secondary sources, KeyCite, Litigation Analytics and more.
- FindLawOne of the best sources for beginning legal research. Full text law reviews, Supreme Court opinions, federal case law, state court opinions, foreign and international resources, legal forms, and more are available via FindLaw.
- JustiaJustia's mission is to advance the availability of legal resources for the benefit of society. They are focused on making primary legal materials and community resources free and easy to find on the Internet. The site provides access to free case law, codes, regulations, legal articles and legal blog and twitterer databases, as well as additional community resources. Justia works with educational, public interest and other socially focused organizations to bring legal and consumer information to the online community.
- The Oyez Project - United States Supreme Court MediaThe Oyez Project is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since October 1955.
- PACERPublic Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER) is an electronic public access service that allows users to obtain case and docket information online from federal appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts.
- SCOTUS BlogA blog run by the Supreme Court of the United States that shows what is on the docket for the day, write-ups of cases and reactions from the Justices, and a link to the SCOTUS podcast.