Skip to main content

Primary Sources

Museums Collections

The Museums collections include artwork created around the world from antiquity to the present day. Particular strengths include American art of the 20th century (especially prints, photographs and work by African American artists), European prints, Inuit art and Pre-Columbian art.

In addition to the art collections, the Museums collections contain approximately 3000 specimens of minerals, meteorites, gems and carvings, including minerals from the remarkable collection of Irénée du Pont.

ArtStor

To search the Museums collections, use Artstor. The African American art collection can be searched separately from the general collection search. Please note that not all of the collections can be searched online. Contact us by email or using the AskMuseums service for information about specific holdings.

To search Artstor:

  • Begin on the Artstor home page. Select “Browse” from the menu at the top of the page, then select “Institutional Collections.”
  • Scroll down to the bottom of the page, where you will see links to “UD Museums: African American Art” and “UD Museums: Art Collection.”
  • Choose which collection you would like to search and select it.
  • Type in your search terms using either the search box or the advanced search option. Important: Be sure to check the box labeled “Search within results” at the right--otherwise you will search all of Artstor’s collections, rather than just the collections in the Museums.

Visiting Us

The Museums are open Tuesday - Saturday, noon - 6 p.m. Closed University holidays and breaks. Up-to-date hours can always be found online.

Please note that only a small portion of the collection is on view at any given time. If you are interested in specific materials in our collection, please contact us.