Politics, policy and government print resources
Special Collections collects broadly in the subject areas of politics, policy, and government. Imprints include monographs, serial publications, and printed ephemera which complement our manuscript and archival collections. Special Collections is also home to the Delaware Collection, a constantly-evolving collection which strives to document all aspects of history and life in Delaware from the prehistoric period and earliest plans for settlement by the Swedes in 1624 to contemporary life. The collection includes the history, culture, domestic, business, and social aspects of Delaware as documented in monographs, serial publications, and printed ephemera.
Any resource in the Delaware Collection will display the location information "Special Collections - Delaware Collection Non-Circulating DEL."
-
Honest John Williams: U.S. Senator from Delaware
by
Call Number: E840.8.W55 H64 2000ISBN: 9780874137132Publication Date: 2000-04-01John J. Williams (1904-88), a chicken-feed dealer from Sussex County, Delaware, had no previous political experience when he was elected to the U.S. Senate as a Republican in 1946. To the amazement of Washington insiders, Williams emerged as an important advocate for fiscal probity and integrity in government.The book examines Williams's involvement in the country's poultry industry from its beginnings during the 1920s through the turbulent World War II years when Sussex poultry producers tangled with federal government officials from the Office of Price Administration and the U.S. Army. -- Excerpt from book jacket. -
Campaigning for Congress
by
Call Number: JK1976 .G64 1984ISBN: 9780871872838Publication Date: 1984-03-01This book is housed at the Library Annex.
-
George S. Messersmith, Diplomat of Diplomacy
by
Call Number: E 748 .M573 S75 1987ISBN: 9780807817216Publication Date: 1987-01-01George Strausser Messersmith (1883-1960) was a favorite of President Franklin D. Roosevelt and the quintessential New Deal diplomat. A voluble, courageous, and indefatigable man, his remarkable career took him to ten posts on three continents. Figuring prominently in European and Latin American policy, his influence also reached the State Department. His life was a crusade for political and economic democracy both at home and abroad. Originally published in 1987.
This book is part of the Special Collections reference collection. -
Man and nature in Delaware: an environmental history of the First State, 1631-2000
by
Call Number: CIRC & DEL FOLIO GF504.D3 W55 2008ISBN: 9780924117367Publication Date: 2008
-
Governing Delaware: Policy Problems in the First State
by
Call Number: JK3716 .B68 2000ISBN: 9780874137217Publication Date: 2000-08-01"Governing Delaware is an analysis of the governance of Delaware that focuses on the political culture and public policy problems of this small state."--BOOK JACKET.
This copy is from the library of John A. Munroe, with his ownership signature. -
Introduction to Delaware Politics
by
Call Number: JK3716 .D45 1968Publication Date: 1968This book is part of the Delaware Collection.
-
The Organization of State Administration in Delaware
by
Call Number: JK3725 1951 .D6Publication Date: 1951This book is part of the Delaware Collection.
Two copies in Special Collections; one copy inscribed to Leon de Valinger. -
Political debates between Hon. Abraham Lincoln and Hon. Stephen A. Douglas, in the celebrated campaign of 1858, in Illinois : including the preceding speeches of each, at Chicago, Springfield, etc. : also, the two great speeches of Mr. Lincoln in Ohio, in
by
Call Number: E457.4 .L738 1860Publication Date: 1960This book is part of the Lincoln Collection.
-
Common sense : addressed to the inhabitants of America, on the following interesting subjects : I. Of the origin and design of government in general, with concise remarks on the English Constitution. II. Of monarchy and hereditary succession. III. Thought
by
Call Number: E211 .P135Publication Date: 1792
