Open Access. Fulltext collections of some of the most frequently used government information sources. Includes the final published versions of official Federal publications from all 3 branches of government: executive, legislative, & judicial. (Coverage: varies)
Examples of what is available on GovInfo include:
Bills & statutes, congressional committee materials, proceedings of Congress
Presidential & regulatory materials
Opinions from more than 100 U.S. courts
Congressional Record, Federal Register, House & Senate Calendars
House & Senate Documents & Reports, constituting a rich set of primary source documents. Covers a variety of topics & may include reports of executive departments & independent organizations, reports of special investigations, etc. (Coverage: 1817-1994)
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set is bound by session of Congress. It began publication with the 15th Congress, 1st Session (1817). Documents before 1817 are found in the American State Papers, which can be accessed via theA-Z Databases page. The Serial Set does not include Congressional hearings & debates.
House & Senate Reports are usually from congressional committees dealing with proposed legislation & issues under investigation. They include all other papers ordered printed by the House or Senate. Documents cover a wide variety of topics & may include reports of executive departments & independent organizations, reports of special investigations made for Congress, & annual reports of non-governmental organizations. During the late 19th & early 20th centuries, Executive branch materials were also published in the Serial Set.
ArchiveGrid includes over three million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
The Center for Legislative Archives, a part of the National Archives and Records Administration, preserves and makes available to researchers the historical records of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate. Through its public outreach programs, the Center uses these historical records to promote a better understanding of Congress and the history of American representative government.
Official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Includes current Congressional activity and calendars, bills & resolutions 1989 (101st Cong)-, bill summary & status 1973 (93rd Cong)-, list of laws by bill number 1989 (101st Cong)-, Congressional Record 1989 (101st Cong)-, Committee Reports 1995 (104th Cong)-, historical publications, and explanations of the legislative process. Presented by the Library of Congress.
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
The Online Public Access resource is the online public portal to our records and information about our records. The OPA prototype currently provides access to nearly one million electronic records currently in the Electronic Records Archives (ERA), which are not available elsewhere online. More electronic records from ERA will be included in OPA in the coming year.