RefWorks
RefWorks Tutorials
DATABASES
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books. Covers all major academic areas. An excellent place to start when learning the basics of any topic. Will help focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles. Images, audio and video files are included.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. - Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies and the latest scholarship in feminist research. It includes sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Specific topics such as abortion, female genital mutilation, marriage customs, polygamy, and religious practices are also included. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowA database of in-depth reports that explore a single “hot” topic. Topics cover social issues such as affirmative action, Latinos in America, and the immigration debate.
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new windowAn online encyclopedia of biographical information on people from throughout history and across all disciplines and subject areas.
- Gender Data Portal | World BankData on key gender topics from the World Bank, national statistics agencies, United Nations databases, and World Bank-conducted or funded surveys. Includes data on fertility, contraception, age at marriage, literacy, employment, health and other vital statistics.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Focuses on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts to the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. - SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowProvides full access to SAGE books, journal articles, reference works, case studies, sample datasets and videos about designing and conducting a research project, specific research methods, performing a literature review and writing about research results.
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new windowThis fully-searchable collection brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.
- Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new windowConnects archival collections concerning women’s history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals.
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new windowThe database includes primary source material from more than 400 authors and provides individual women’s rare, personal perspectives on world history. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch is a full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. It provides in-depth coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's daily lives, including family, childbirth, birth control, abortion, daycare, domestic violence, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders, and social and societal roles. - Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new windowEarly printed books, journals and magazines published from 1543-1945 on the history of women in the world.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new windowA collection of American and Canadian women’s diaries and correspondence. Although most of the diaries are published, the collection also contains some unpublished material.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowContains 52 documentary projects that interpret and present documents, most of which are not otherwise available online. Each project poses an interpretive question and provides a collection of documents that address the question. Altogether these projects provide more than 1,250 documents, 450 images, and 500 links to other websites.
- Women Writers Online This link opens in a new windowWomen Writers Online is the database of the Women Writers Project (WWP), Brown University, which is a long-term research project devoted to early modern women's writing and electronic text encoding. Its goal is to bring texts by pre-Victorian women writers out of the archive and make them accessible to a wide audience.
- The LilyFull text of the The Lily, published in Seneca Falls, NY, one of the first newspapers for women.
Coverage: 1830-1898
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains the complete text of several major newspapers published in the United States since the 1970s. Included are the New York Times and the Washington Post.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowU.S and international newspapers, 1983 to the present.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Access to a number of genealogical and historical resources, including images of the decennial U.S. census from 1790-1930.
- Gale OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals, investment reports, directory listings and newswire releases, as well as indexing of national newspapers.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals in communication, mass media, and other closely related fields. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for over 570 journals, and selected (priority) coverage of nearly 200 more. Also includes full text for over 450 journals. (Coverage: 1915 --)
- Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database for criminal justice and criminology research. Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering all related subjects, including forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law, and investigation. (Coverage 1968 --)
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts as well as some full-text education journals. Covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education. Also includes a collection of videos that provide practical online teacher training that addresses the evolving landscape of education.
- Family and Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations, with abstracts, for a broad range of social science disciplines, including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. Subjects include world history, military history, womens history, history of education and more. Indexes 2,300+ academic journals in over 40 languages. (Coverage: 1952 --)
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts the statistical content of selected U. S. and state government publications, business and association publications and intergovernmental publications. Abstracts may contain a link to the full- text of the table and/or a link to the agency's website where the full-text of the publication may be viewed and downloaded.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Political science and public policy - APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, mental health and related disciplines. (Coverage: 1806 --)
- Art Abstracts/Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts and citations for hundreds of periodicals on art, art history and related disciplines. (Coverage: Abstracts, 1984 --, Indexes, 1929-1984)
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A resource for religious and theological studies. Provides bibliographic records for topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. (Coverage: 1949 --)
- Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window
Open Access. Art history bibliography covering European and American art. Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealer catalogs, and articles from more than 1200 periodicals. (Coverage 1975-2007)
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for articles, books, book chapters, and more. When available, includes links to full-text resources from the library and in open access publications. Covers a range of humanities subjects, including world languages and literatures, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing, teaching of language, and history of publishing. (Coverage: 1926 --)
- Philosophers Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. (Coverage: 1940 --)
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index, with some full articles, to the literature of nursing and allied health professions. - APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles in journals, chapters in books, dissertations, and other resources in psychology and the socal sciences.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides references, abstracts, or entire articles from more than 8,000 scholarly and general interest periodicals. - ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts for U.S. dissertations from 1861 through to those accepted as recently as last semester.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles published 1907-1984. - Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An online index to older journals and magazines in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. The scope is international. - Readers Guide Index / Readers Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full-text of popular periodicals. (Coverage: Readers Guide Index, 1983 -- | Readers Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982)
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database indexes scholarly journals published in all disciplines. It allows for searching for cited authors or cited works and is excellent for discovering highly cited works on a topic.