Additional Sources on Women Worldwide
- Start by consulting the general resources on the other pages of this guide. Also consider the following sources:
- BOOKS
- Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures. 6 vols. Leiden; Boston, Mass.: Brill, 2003-2007.
- A six-volume set on women and Islamic culture including topics such as: family, law, politics, sexuality, health, economics, education, mobility, and practices.
- The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide. Editor-in-chief, Lynn Walter. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood, 2003. 6 vols.
- A set that presents current data on contemporary women's issues in more that 130 countries. There is one volume for each of the following areas: Asia and Oceania, Central and South America, Europe, the Middle East and North Africa, North America and the Caribbean, and Sub-Saharan Africa. The individual chapters focus on a single country and present information on a wide variety of topics including: education, employment, family, health, law, politics, religion, sexuality, and violence. Each chapter includes suggested readings, web sites and organizations, and a selected bibliography.
- Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia. 16 vols. Waterford, CT: Yorkin Publications, 1999- .
- A multivolume set that provides signed biographical essays on individual women, as well as collective entries on topics such as “Astronauts: Women in Space.” The encyclopedia also contains extensive genealogical charts outlining the positions of women in royal families.
DATABASES
- Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive source for theory & research in international affairs. Each section of CIAO is updated with new material regularly.
- Gender Equality Data and StatisticsData on key gender topics from national statistics agencies, United Nations databases, and World Bank-conducted or funded surveys. Includes data on fertility, contraception, age at marriage, literacy, employment, health and other vital statistics.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers public policy issues & emphasizes factual & statistical information. Print & electronic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration & legislation. Business topics are covered, with emphasis on economic factors, industry surveys, business-societal interactions & similar issues, rather than details of business operations. (Coverage: 1915 --)
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World HistoryAn encyclopedia that covers the role women have played throughout world history. It includes over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies.
- UNdataSelect Gender Info for statistics and indicators on: population, women and men in families, health, education, work, and political decision making.
- World News Connection Archive This link opens in a new windowStarted in 1995 by providing access to materials from around the world, selected & translated into English by analysts from the U.S. Government’s domestic & overseas bureaus. Daily updates were sourced from newspapers, television & radio broadcasts, online sources, conference proceedings, periodicals, & non-classified reports, & provided timely coverage of the latest socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, & environmental issues & events. Ultimately WNC grew to include over 500 news sources from over 130 countries. (Coverage: 1995-2013)