Books and E-Books
Basic Search Tips
- Place quotation marks around keyword phrases
"concrete poetry"
"review of english studies"
- Capitalize Boolean logic connectors (AND, OR).
narrative OR plot
"graphic novels" AND disability
- Click either "View all formats and languages" or "View all editions" to view all library holdings for a particular title.
- Items at UD appear first in the list of search results. Other items can be requested via interlibrary loan.
Advanced Search Tips
- Type au:, su: or ti: before your keywords to specify author, subject or title words.
au:walker, alice
su:comic books
- Type ti= if you know the exact title.
ti=color purple
- A title search may identify items that have matching words in their chapter titles or contents lists.
- See Searching WorldCat: Index Quick Reference for other options.
- African Writers Series This link opens in a new windowOver 210 volumes of key texts of modern African fiction, poetry, drama, and non-fiction prose, 1962 - present.
- Black Drama (2nd edition) This link opens in a new windowFull plays by playwrights from North America, Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
- Early American Imprints Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new windowBooks printed in the colonies and early United States during the 17th and 18th centuries.
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowEnglish publications from the time period 1475-1700.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowWorks published during the 18th century.
- Literature Online Complete This link opens in a new windowA searchable library of works of English and American poetry, drama and prose as well as biographies, bibliographies and key secondary sources.
- Past Masters This link opens in a new windowComplete works and/or letters of individual authors published by Oxford University Press.
- Sabin Americana This link opens in a new windowBooks, pamphlets, periodicals, and other documents about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to 1926, based on Joseph Sabin’s landmark bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana.
- Women Writers Online This link opens in a new windowWorks by pre-Victorian women writers (1400-1850), including a subset of Renaissance Women Online.
- Google Books This link opens in a new windowSearch the latest index of millions of free books to preview or read.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA shared repository of digitized content from some of the largest research libraries in the United States. Log in with your UDelNet ID and password to download entire books.
- Internet Archive - Text ArchiveMillions of freely downloadable books and texts as well as 550,000 modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.
- Wright American Fiction, 1851-1875 | Indiana UniversityNearly 3,000 digitized works from Lyle H. Wright's American Fiction 1851–1875: A Contribution Toward a Bibliography.
Drama
- Nineteenth Century American DramaCall Number: Microfiche S 250American plays published from 1801 through 1900 in printed and manuscript form. To see titles included, search DELCAT for the series "English and American Drama of the Nineteenth Century."
- Nineteenth Century English DramaCall Number: Microfiche S 249English plays published from 1801 through 1900 in printed and manuscript form. To see titles included, search DELCAT for the series "English and American Drama of the Nineteenth Century."
- Three centuries of English and American plays, 1500-1830Call Number: Microfiche no.1982Plays published in print or manuscript in the English language in England for the years 1500-1800 and in the United States for 1714-1830. Index.
Fiction
- American Fiction, 1774-1875Call Number: Microfilm no. S106 and S106 IndexThousands of 19th-century American works of fiction from Lyle H. Wright’s bibliographies American Fiction, 1774-1850, and American Fiction, 1851-1875.
- Nineteenth Century English FictionCall Number: Microfilm no. S137, with Author and Title guidesA selective collection of fictional works of the nineteenth century. Some reels have the title Victorian and Other Nineteenth Century Fiction; others have Victorian Fiction.
English and American Culture
- American culture series, 1493-1875Call Number: Microfilm no. S34 and S34 IndexA collection of early American books and pamphlets.
- Early American imprints, 1801-1819 [Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker]Call Number: Microfilm no. S269.5American books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in the early nineteenth century, based on the American Bibliography, A Preliminary Checklist for 1801-1819, compiled by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
- Eighteenth Century Sources for the Study of English Literature and CultureCall Number: Microfilm no. S146Selected primary and critical works relevant to the "literary, artistic and cultural milieu of eighteenth-century England." DELCAT Discovery records are available for individual titles in the collection.
- Pamphlets in American History [Group I]Call Number: Microfilm no. S83 and S83 GuideBiography (general), Indians, Revolutionary War Biography, Women.
- Pamphlets in American History [Group II]Call Number: Microfilm no. S173Labor, tariffs and free trade, civil liberties.