English and American Literature

Can be searched in conjunction with the MLA Directory of Periodicals, which contains all information available on journals and series on the Bibliographys Master List. The Directory of Periodicals is included in the Bibliography.

4 concurrent users allowed.
Part of the Literature Online database.

Gale Literature Criticism is comprised of the following series:

• Childrens Literature Review
• Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
• Contemporary Literary Criticism Online
• Drama Criticism
• Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
• Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
• Poetry Criticism
• Shakespearean Criticism
• Short Story Criticism
• Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism

A large number of open access e-books are also available on Project MUSE. Search DELCAT to access these free e-books.

Includes all American imprints from the 17th and 18th centuries identified in the American Bibliography by Charles Evans and in the Supplement to Evans’ American Bibliography by Roger Bristol.

Can be searched on Readex AllSearch, an integrated platform that combines Readex’s primary sources into a single cross-searchable interface.

This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.

Mainly, but not exclusively in English. 

Includes materials ranging from Shakespeare and Greek New Testaments to anonymous ballads, broadsides, songs, advertisements, and other ephemera. 

From the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries.

Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

Iter Bibliography: Citations for journal articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts, discographies, monographs, and material published in monographs and collections of essays pertaining to the Middles Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

Iter Italicum: Online version of Paul Oskar Kristeller’s Iter Italicum, the most comprehensive finding list available of previously uncataloged or incompletely cataloged Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world.

Renaissance and Reformation/Renaissance et Réforme: A peer-reviewed quarterly journal, multidisciplinary and bilingual, on all aspects of the Renaissance and Reformation period.

Early Theatre: A peer-reviewed journal that publishes articles on medieval or early modern drama and theatre history, rooted in the records and documents of England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales.

REED (Records of Early English Drama): (1976-1997) Published documentary evidence of early drama, items on records research, and requests by scholars for information. It was superseded by the peer-reviewed journal, Early Theatre.

Aestimatio: Provides critical, timely assessments of books published in the history of what was called science from antiquity up to the early modern period in cultures ranging from Spain to India, and from Africa to northern Europe.

The Electronic Capito Project: Provides access to the text of letters from and to Wolfgang Faber Capito (c. 1478-1541).

This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.

The acquisition of this database was made possible through the support of the Unidel Foundation.

The plays and social documents in this resource provide a view of every aspect of 18th c. theatre culture and wider society in England. Includes a unique archive of almost every play submitted for license between 1737 and 1824, and hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays. (Coverage: 1737-1824)

In many cases, the Gerritsen Collection provides easy access to primary sources otherwise available only in a few rare book rooms.

Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue is a component of C19: The Nineteenth Century Index.