Journal Collections
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to scholarly journals in a variety of subject areas. Many journals go back to their first issue. Check the issues available for individual titles.
- Project MUSE Journals This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE offers online access to scholarly humanities, arts and social sciences journals. (Variable coverage: 1993 or later to the present.)
- Opinion Archives This link opens in a new windowAmerican Spectator (1967- ), Commentary (1945- ), Commonweal (1924- ), Dissent (1954- ), Harpers Magazine (1850- ), NACLA (North American Congress on Latin America; 1967- ), The Nation (1865- ), The National Review (1955- ), The New Republic (1914- ), New York Review of Books (1963- ), The New Yorker (1925- ), Orion (1982- ), Washington Monthly (1969- ).
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)DOAJ is a community-curated list of open access journals and aims to be the starting point for all information searches for quality, peer reviewed open access material.
Browse or Search E-Journals
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowMore than 6,500 historical periodical titles documenting the life of America’s people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction and into the early 20th century (1684-1912).
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new windowAmerican magazines and journals from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century and documents archived at the Center for Research Libraries, 1741-2005.
- British Periodicals This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text of hundreds of periodicals on a wide variety of subjects, 1680s-1930s.
- Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new windowMonographs and periodicals, 1543-1945, collected by Aletta Jacobs Gerritsen, reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and women’s rights.
- Modernist Journals Project This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals chronicling the rise of literary modernism in the English-speaking world, 1890 to 1922.
- Opinion Archives This link opens in a new windowAmerican Spectator (1967- ), Commentary (1945- ), Commonweal (1924- ), Dissent (1954- ), Harpers Magazine (1850- ), NACLA (North American Congress on Latin America; 1967- ), The Nation (1865- ), The National Review (1955- ), The New Republic (1914- ), New York Review of Books (1963- ), The New Yorker (1925- ), Orion (1982- ), Washington Monthly (1969- ).
- Nineteenth Century U.K. Periodicals This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals from Victorian Britain on subjects such as humor, leisure, sport, travel, anthropology, economics, missionary and colonial enterprise, and titles for women and children, 1800-1900.
- Black Literature, 1827-1940Call Number: Microfiche no. 2006Fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers, 1827-1940. To search the citations, use the Black Literature Index included in the Black Studies Center database.
- British Periodicals in the Creative ArtsCall Number: Microfilm no. S204Creative arts periodicals published in Great Britain between 1770 and the early twentieth century. DELCAT Discovery records are available for individual titles in the collection.
- Early British PeriodicalsCall Number: Microfilm no. S275A collection of 18th- and 19th-century British periodicals, accompanied by A guide to the early British periodicals collection on microfilm, with title, subject, editor, and reel number indexes.
- Nineteenth Century Theatre PeriodicalsCall Number: Microfilm no. 3572Part 1: Theatre periodicals from 1800 to 1897 housed in the British Library. Part 2: Periodicals published from 1880 housed in the British Library Newspaper Library. Part 3: From the Theatre Museum, London and the Bodleian, Oxford. Lists of contents may be found at the beginning of each reel. DELCAT Discovery records are available for individual titles in the collection.
- Accessing English Literary Periodicals byCall Number: Reference Z692 .S5 U56 1981Publication Date: 1981Use the guide to find titles of periodicals included in the English Literary Periodicals microfilm series. These periodicals are predominantly literary, including theatrical, satirical, political, religious, and women's magazines, and were published in Great Britain during the 17th-19th centuries. The titles have individual records, and distinct call numbers, in DELCAT Discovery.
How do I use citation information to find out if UD has an article I want?
You can search for the title of the article in DELCAT Discovery or Google Scholar and use the "View PDF," "View full text," or "Get It" link to reach the full article. If that doesn't work, use the library's E-journals search page to check the library's access to the journal where the article was published. The tutorial below will guide you through this process.
How can I identify journals in my area of interest?
In the MLA Directory of Periodicals, use the Subject field to search for publications that focus on your area(s). Then you can use the library's E-journals search page to check the library's access to particular journals.
Where can I find calls for papers (CFPs) in my field?
- Call for PapersWebsite is provided by the Department of English at the University of Pennsylvania as a courtesy to the academic community.
- MLA Commons GroupsJoin micro-communities designed to facilitate interaction and collaboration between scholars with common interests.
- Humanities Commons GroupsThe broader community to which MLA Commons belongs.
- Calls for Papers | HASTACHASTAC (Humanities, Arts, Science, and Technology Alliance and Collaboratory) posts interdisciplinary calls for papers often related to digital humanities.