Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Provides data and reports on the US economy. Covers GDP, personal income, consumer spending, industry outputs, direct investment, and more.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Provides data and Information on consumer spending, consumer price index, employment, productivity, time use, and more.
Provides access to data from the US Census Bureau and partner agencies. Census data covers dozens of topics across 130+ surveys and programs. You can search for data on many topics, including population and people, places, employment, housing, business and economy, income and poverty, health, education, race and ethnicity, etc.
The home for the U.S. Government’s open data. The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
Data from RFE (Resources for Economists on the Internet)
List of key data sources compiled by the American Economic Association.
Economic Data from Census
Data from the Economic Census and various business-related surveys, including Economic Census, Current Industrial Reports, Annual Survey of Manufacturers, Service Annual Survey, Statistics of U.S. Businesses, E-Commerce, Small Business, Minority/Women Business Owners, and more.
Search portal to the full range of official data from the Federal Government. Topics include economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, energy use, farm production and more.
FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
Economic time series on business, employment, exchange rates, interest rates, prices, GDP, banking, and more. Historical data are available at Archival FRED (ALFRED).
Google Public Data
Charts and graphs that illustrate a changing world. Based on public data from government agencies (e.g., Census) and organizations (e.g., World Bank). Uses can also import eligible datasets to create customized visualizations.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States has been published since 1878. It is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other federal agencies and private organizations. This UD collection includes the 1st no. (1878) and ceased with 131st ed. (2012). It is continued by the ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States.
Historical statistics of the United States: colonial times to 1970.
Contains annual, time-series data with national coverage on almost any aspect of United States economics, population or infrastructure since the government began recording statistics. Part 1 covers: Population. Vital statistics and health and medical care. Migration. Labor. Prices and price indexes. National income and wealth. Consumer income and expenditures. Social statistics. Land, water, and climate. Agriculture. Forestry and fisheries. Minerals. Part 2 covers: Construction and housing. Manufactures. Transportation. Communications. Energy. Distribution and services. International transactions and foreign commerce. Business enterprise. Productivity and technological development. Financial markets and institutions.
Profiles and comparisons between states, counties, and county-metros. Also includes innovations in American regions and stress (measured by unemployment and income) comparison.
US Energy Administration (EIA)
Energy statistics and reports.