Geological Sciences

This is a community of Earth and space science blogs, hosted by the American Geophysical Union. Most blogs in this network are written by independent scientist-writers; three—GeoSpace, The Plainspoken Scientist and The Bridge—are written by AGU staff (with occasional help from collaborators and guest bloggers).

A geological photographic archive, GeoScenic images are delivered free for non-commercial use; use this material for private study, research and educational activities. See individual websites for specific terms and conditions.

Through immersive experiences, interactive lesson plans, maps, and other free resources – there are endless ways to learn with National Geographic. Resource Library material for Grades Pre-K through 12+

Discover what the National Academies are doing in various topic areas to strengthen the fields of science, engineering, and medicine and their capacity to contribute to the well-being of our nation and the world.

Teach the Earth supports teaching and learning about the Earth by providing online resources for educators in the geosciences and related fields. Resources include classroom activities, course descriptions and syllabi, information about pedagogical strategies, topical collections, and more.

Geoscience Currents transmit snapshots of the many facets of the geoscience profession, in-depth case studies of how geoscience is applied, factsheets that provide rigorous introductions to a range of geoscience topics, workforce trends, and career paths.

Map Basics, articles, online collection, natural hazards & weather, historical, topical, topographic, state maps & data, create your own map, remote sensing, geographic names, geologic maps, extraterrestrial, map vendors, spatial data, and historical Delaware maps

Download available pdf and associated data files of geological maps of Delaware areas from the Delaware Geological Survey (DGS)

Maps and publications archives of the Delaware Geological Survey (DGS) in UDSpace, the University of Delaware Institutional Repository

Content ranges from aerial photography of the Yosemite Valley to a 16th-century map of Ireland or of San Francisco following the 1906 earthquake. Best for the area around California, but very good for the rest of the world too.

This interactive tool serves as a national archive for high-quality, standardized geologic maps created by the U.S. Geological Survey and state geological surveys.

The PALEOMAP Project illustrates the plate tectonic development of the ocean basins and continents and the changing distribution of land and sea during the past 1100 million years.

A center within the Columbia Climate School at Columbia University, CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment.

NCEI manages one of the largest archives of atmospheric, coastal, geophysical, and oceanic research in the world; offers users access to over 26,000 datasets and products

A Federal science center operated by the U.S. Geological Survey, EROS works to map, monitor, and analyze land change across our nation and around the world. Find data, publications, maps, multimedia and more.

A crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals

The Delaware Geological Survey (DGS) is a science-based, public-service-driven Delaware state agency at the University of Delaware (UD) that conducts geologic and hydrologic research, service, and exploration for the benefit of the citizens of the First State.

As the Nation's largest water, earth, and biological science and civilian mapping agency, USGS collects, monitors, analyzes, and provides science about natural resource conditions, issues, and problems. One of the primary functions is to provide quality scientific information to the public through various products (Data and Tools, Maps, Software, Publications, Multimedia Gallery).

Representing the State Geologists of the 50 United States and Puerto Rico, AASG seeks to advance the science and practical application of geology and related earth sciences in the United States and its territories, commonwealths, and possessions.

FGDC Digital Cartographic Standard for Geologic Map Symbolization - A single national standard for symbolizing the lines, points, and areas that are shown on geologic maps to improve production and consistency of geologic maps.

From the North American Commission on Stratigraphic Nomenclature, this Code describes how to classify and name all formally defined geologic units shown on maps and sections. It is the basis for the stratigraphic terminology used in the U.S. and compiled into Geolex.

A collection of stratigraphic and related resources for scientists. Includes the North American Stratigraphic Code.

GEOSCAN (Natural Resources Canada/NRCan) features over 98,000 publication records primarily of the earth sciences (Geological Survey of Canada, National Atlas, Topographic maps, Climate Change Impacts and Adaptation, Remote Sensing and Geodesy, and Surveyor General), including external publications authored by NRCan scientists and specialists or with NRCan support.