Useful Resources
Geowriting, a Guide to Writing, Editing, and Printing in Earth Science by Call Number: Morris QE48.85 .G44ISBN: 9780922152148Publication Date: 2004
Communicating Rocks by
Instruction concerning the rules and styles of writing and speaking are addressed in relation to technical concerns specific to the Earth sciences, illustrating the importance of effective communication in geologic investigations. The book includes guidance on how to write an effective research paper, and the creation of PowerPoints, posters, a thesis, funding proposals, and more is covered in detail.
Call Number: Request via ILLISBN: 9780321689672Publication Date: 2011
Academic and Scientific Poster Presentation by
This book offers the first comprehensive guide to poster presentation at academic, scientific and professional conferences.
Call Number: SpringerLink eBook (2017)ISBN: 9783319612782
A Scientific Approach to Scientific Writing by
This guide provides a framework, starting from simple statements, for writing papers for submission to peer-reviewed journals. It also describes how to address referees' comments, approaches for composing other types of scientific communications, and key linguistic aspects of scientific writing.
Call Number: SpringerLink eBookISBN: 9781441997876Publication Date: 2011
The Craft of Scientific Writing by
This book uses scores of examples to show the differences between scientific writing that informs and persuades and scientific writing that does not. It identifies five key elements of style that distinguish the best scientific documents.
Call Number: SpringerLink eBookISBN: 9781441982889Publication Date: 2017
The Scientist's Guide to Writing by
A concise and accessible primer on the scientific writer's craft The ability to write clearly is critical to any scientific career. The Scientist's Guide to Writing provides practical advice to help scientists become more effective writers so that their ideas have the greatest possible impact.
Call Number: eBook (JSTOR)ISBN: 9781400881147Publication Date: 2016-04-12
Writing Science: How to Write Papers That Get Cited and Proposals That Get Funded by
Writing Science is built upon the idea that successful science writing tells a story. The book takes an integrated approach, using the principles of story structure to discuss every aspect of successful science writing, from the overall structure of a paper or proposal to individual sections, paragraphs, sentences, and words.
Call Number: Ebook CentralISBN: 9780199909513
How to Write a Good Scientific Paper by
This book is all about teaching the style and conventions of writing for a peer-reviewed scientific journal. From structure to style, titles to tables, abstracts to author lists, this book gives practical advice about the process of writing a paper and getting it published.
Call Number: Open Access from SPIE Digital LibraryISBN: 9781510619142Publication Date: 2018
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper by
An essential guide for succeeding in today's competitive environment, this book provides beginning scientists and experienced researchers with practical advice on writing about their work and getting published. This brand new, updated edition also includes a new chapter on editing one's own work, a section on publicizing and archiving one's paper, and updates on authorship, including information on new authorship criteria and on the author identification number ORCID. The book guides readers through the processes involved in writing for and publishing in scientific journals, from choosing a suitable journal, to writing each part of the paper, to submitting the paper and responding to peer review, through checking the proofs. It covers ethical issues in scientific publishing, explains rights and permissions, and discusses writing grant proposals, giving presentations and writing for general audiences.
Call Number: T11 .D33 2017ISBN: 9781316640432Publication Date: 2017-03-02
Scientific English by
The book is organized around a basic guide to English grammar that is specifically tailored to the needs of scientists, science writers, science educators, and science students. The authors explain the goals of scientific writing, the role of style, and the various kinds of writing in the sciences, then provide a basic guide to the fundamentals of English and address problem areas such as redundancies, abbreviations and acronyms, jargon, and foreign terms. Email, online publishing, blogs, and writing for the Web are covered as well.
Call Number: REF PE1475 .D38 2011ISBN: 9780313391736Publication Date: 2011
Driving Science Information Discovery in the Digital Age by
Driving Science Information Discovery in the Digital Age examines the discovery of scientific information from three different, but intertwined, perspectives: Discovering, managing, and using information (Information seeker perspective) Publishing, disseminating, and making information discoverable (Publisher perspective) Creating, spreading, and promoting information (Author perspective).
Call Number: ScienceDirect eBook (2021)ISBN: 9780128237243
- Writing Guidelines for Engineering and ScienceMichael Alley (Penn State) provides these guidelines containing advice and models for writing documents in engineering and science. These guidelines also contain teaching and learning resources for engineering and science students.
- Grammar, Punctuation, and Capitalization (pdf)Grammar, Punctuation, and Capitalization: A Handbook for Technical Writers and Editors, by Mary K. McCaskill (Washington, DC: NASA, Office of Management) 1990. Available through the NASA Scientific and Technical Information (STI) Program under Tools.at https://www.sti.nasa.gov/
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive and unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from many thousands of scholarly and technical journals.
- Annual Reviews RankingAnnual Reviews rankings in journal citation reports (Clarivate Analytics)
- Geology Style Guide (GAS)GSA Reference Guidelines and Examples (pdf)
- Grammar and Style Guide for AGU journalsAGU follows American Psychological Association (APA) style on grammar, punctuation, table formatting, citations, and references. This full guide includes basic APA style (and exceptions) and AGU-specific style.
Scientific Style and Format by
Provides authoritative recommendations on writing style and citation. Developed by the Council of Science Editors (CSE), this indispensable guide encompasses all areas of the sciences.
Call Number: T11 .S386 2014ISBN: 9780226116495Publication Date: 2014-05-07
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed. (2019)Call Number: REF BF76.7 .P83 2020APA style is used in psychology and many other disciplines.
Data Citations
Data citations are important not only to give proper credit to the data producer, but also to enable readers of your work to access the data, for their own use or to replicate your results. Make sure the following elements are present in your citation:
- Creators
- Date (year of publication)
- Title
- Version or edition
- Publisher, data center or repository
- Identifier or permanent URL
- Digital Curation Centre Guide: How to Cite Datasets and Link to Publications"This guide will help you create links between your academic publications and the underlying datasets, so that anyone viewing the publication will be able to locate the dataset and vice versa."
- IASSIST: Quick Guide to Data CitationSuggestions from data professionals on the best way to cite data in APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
- DOI Citation FormatterExtracts the metadata automatically from a DOI and builds a full citation. It supports more than 5,000 different citation styles in 45 different languages
- DataCiteLocate, identify, and cite research data with the leading global provider of DOIs for research data
- Data Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes data studies and datasets across the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Links the datasets/studies with published literature.