Skip to Main Content

Film Finders: Award-Winning Films

Oscars: Best International Feature Film



For the 29th Academy Awards (1956), a competitive Academy Award of Merit, then known as the Best Foreign Language Film Award,

was created for non-English speaking films and has been given annually since.

In 2020 it has been renamed Best International Feature Film.

The award is accepted by the winning film's director, but is considered a win for the submitting country as a whole. 


The site will be updated as titles are added to the collection.

Click on listed call numbers for additional information from DELCAT.

2023 Winner & Nominees; Winners: 2022-1999

2023 Winner & Nominees

The Zone of Interest (United Kingdom)

lo Capitano (Italy)

Perfect Days (Japan)

Society of the Snow=La sociedad de la nieve (Spain)

The Teachers' Lounge = Das Lehrerzimmer (Germany)

2022-All Quiet on the Western Front =

Im Westen nichts Neues (Germany), DVD 22832

2021-Drive My Car = Doraibu mai kā (Japan), DVD 22184; HDDVD 995

2020-Another Round = Druk (Denmark), DVD 22077

2019-Parasite (South Korea), DVD 21978HDDVD 839

2018-Roma (Mexico), DVD 21808; HDDVD 842

2017-A Fantastic Woman (Chile), HDDVD 593

2016-The Salesman = Forushande (Iran), DVD 18772

2015-Son of Saul=Saul fia (Hungary), eVideo;

DVD 17524

2014-Ida (Poland), eVideo; DVD 15086; 


2013-The Great Beauty=La grande bellezza (Italy),

DVD 14356; HDDVD 347

2012-Amour (Austria), eVideoDVD 13378

2011-A Separation=Judāyī-i Nādir az Sīmīn (Iran),

DVD 11891


2010-In a Better World=Haevnen (Denmark),

eVideoHDDVD 75

2009-The Secret in Their Eyes=El secreto de sus

ojos (Argentina), eVideoDVD 8240

2008-Departures= Okuribito (Japan), DVD 7080

2007-The Counterfeiters=Die Falscher (Austria),

DVD 5465

2006-The Lives of Others=Das Leben der Anderen

(Germany) DVD 3717HDDVD 433

2005-Tsotsi (South Africa), eVideoDVD 2701

2004-The Sea Inside=Mar adentro (Spain), eVideo;

DVD 1821

2003-The Barbarian Invasions=Les Invasions barbares

(Canada), DVD 1135

2002-Nowhere in Africa=Nirgendwo in Afrika

(Germany), DVD 7060

2001-No Man’s Land=Ničija zemlja (Bosnia & 


2000-Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon= Wo hu cang

long (Taiwan), DVD 380; HDDVD 276

1999-All About My Mother=Todo sobre mi madre

(Spain), eVideo; DVD 4242; HDDVD 832