Key Databases
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Links to the new CAS SciFinder-n (classic SciFinder is no longer available) - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of Elsevier journals in chemistry and chemical engineering; clinical medicine; computer science; earth and planetary sciences; economics, business, and management science; engineering; energy; environmental science and technology; life sciences; materials science; mathematics; physics and astronomy; social sciences. Provides indexing and abstracts for e-journals from other publishers.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstracting database covering thousands of active titles, primarily peer-reviewed journals. Also includes eBooks, major reference works and graduate level textbooks. Emphasis on social sciences, arts and humanities, but also includes science, technology and medicine. Includes thousands of Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, and patents. (Coverage: Primarily 1970-present. Some pre-1970 records going back to 1788)
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and workshops across the globe.
- Agricultural and Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS). Provides full-text titles from around the world.
- BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Adds citation indexing to BIOSIS content and is a thorough reference database for life sciences. Includes cited references to primary journal literature on biological and medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. Traditional areas such as botany, zoology, microbiology, as well as related fields like biomedicine, agriculture, pharmacology, ecology are covered. Interdisciplinary fields like medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, biotechnology are also included. (Coverage: 1926 --)
- Biological and Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, indexing and abstracts from essential biology and agricultural research journals. Useful for those studying the agricultural industry, veterinary science, wildlife management, and environmental science.
- Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Iincludes the Biological Sciences, MEDLINE and TOXLINE databases. Provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection. (Coverage: 1946 --)
- DrugBankA unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug data with comprehensive drug target information
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A free resource providing access to biomedical and life sciences literature. Contains millions of citations and abstracts, but does not include full-text articles. However, links to the full-text are often present from other sources, such UD subscribed titles, publisher websites, or PubMed Central. To access articles from UD subscribed titles you must be a UD student or staff member.
- ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery) This link opens in a new windowPublications from ACM (Association for Computing Machinery), including journals, magazines, proceedings, and special interest group (SIG) newsletters.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowFull text access to IEEE journals, conference proceedings, and standards in electrical engineering, communications, and computer science.
- Materials Science and Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world.
- SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
Curated data and advanced functionalities to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields.
- CompTox Chemicals Dashboard | EPAThe Dashboard contains chemistry, toxicity and exposure information for over one million chemicals, with over 300 chemical lists based on structure or category. Webpage provides links to the Dashboard and to its Resource Hub.
- TOXLINE (via ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens. - TOXNET has moved!As part of a broader NLM reorganization, most of NLM's toxicology information services have been integrated into other NLM products and services.
Other useful databases
- BCC Research This link opens in a new window
In-depth market research reports covering the technology, science, and healthcare sectors.
After clicking link:
- Click on the "Member Login" button in the top, right-hand corner of the screen
- Select the "IP AUTHENTICATE" option in the bottom, right-hand corner of the pop-up box
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Full-text company and industry intelligence on global corporations.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Broad-spectrum database for business literature. Particularly useful for information on management practices or corporate implementations of technology. - IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
U.S. industry market research and industry risk ratings. Contains trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. Includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance.
- PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Includes company profiles, news and data for private equity, venture capital, and mergers and acquisitions research.
Funding for this resource is provided by the University's Office of Economic Innovation and Partnerships and Horn Entrepreneurship.
- DTIC (Defense Technical Information Center)Technical Reports are reports created and published to the collection by organizations funded by the Department of Defense to perform research in a variety of industries and disciplines. Technical Reports found on DTIC's public website will only include reports designated as unclassified and unlimited information.
- NTIS (National Technical Information Service)Index of research and reports from federal agencies.
- NTRS NASA Technical Reports Server)Provides access to aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, images, and videos. The types of information included are: conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.
- OSTI (Office of Scientific and Technical Information)OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information.
- USA.govWeb portal with links to government agency websites. Find information by subject or by using their search engine.
- Dissertations and Theses @ University of Delaware This link opens in a new window
This database is a subset of the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global database. It contains only University of Delaware dissertations and theses. See below for detailed information about included dates and content coverage.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from thousands of universities.