Where can I find Delaware historical collections?
- Delaware Public ArchivesMost Delaware historical collections related to government information or state records will reside here.
- Delaware Historical SocietyA rich collection related to Delaware and Wilmington History.
- Wilmington Public LibraryHas a large collection of Delaware historical sources, newspapers, photographs, and more.
- UD Special CollectionsUD has an extensive Delawareana collection. This link will lead you to the general website, but you can find more information on the extent of the collection by clicking on the research guide under the "Related Guides" box to the left on this page.
The institutions that are listed below are not located in Delaware, but could have Delaware historical collections.
Pennsylvania:
- Pennsylvania State Archives
- The National Archives at Philadelphia - This institution would have federal documents related to the regional area
- The Historical Society of Pennsylvania
Maryland:
Historical Societies
General Histories
History of Delaware by Call Number: RefF164 .M83 2001ISBN: 9780874137729Publication Date: 2001-09-01The standard history of the state, this volume chronicles the history of Delaware from the early 1600s to the present. Available in ebook and print.
Slavery and Freedom in Delaware, 1639-1865 by Call Number: E445.D3 W55 1996ISBN: 9780842025942Publication Date: 1996-06-01William H. Williams fills a gap in the literature on slavery in America. This book is the first comprehensive analysis of the 'peculiar institution' in the First State. An excellent text for courses in colonial and antebellum history, Slavery and Freedom in Delaware provides valuable insight into this unfortunate, unforgettable period in the nation's history.- Delaware Place NamesPublication Date: 1966A list of places with stories behind the names. Includes a map of hundreds 1875 to present, (p. 5). Originally published as U.S. Geological Survey. Bulletin, no. 1245.
- Delaware BibliographyView this PDF to find a list of Delaware histories ranging from general, state-wide histories and histories divided by town.