Databases at UD
The following list includes both secondary and primary source databases that have information on the First State. Please note that access to our databases is ONLY for current UD Faculty, Staff, and Students. If you wish to conduct research with our databases, you must visit the library in person.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,800 academic journals dating back to 1954, with some coverage for titles back to the early 20th century. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events.
The journal Delaware History is indexed in this database. - American County Histories to 1900 This link opens in a new windowContains: A History of Delaware, 1609-1888 by Scharf, John Thomas
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new windowTo identify Delaware (or any state) records, select the Search tab, then "Browse by location," "Delaware." Or select the Search tab and select a record collection.
- Chronicling America This link opens in a new windowThis is an openly accessible resource through the Library of Congress that includes digitized newspapers from across the country. The Delaware Digital Newspaper Project has been digitizing issues from Delaware that are made available here.
- Digital Bibliography of Delaware This link opens in a new windowA new compilation of bibliographies created by many individuals and organizations. The information presented includes two previously published bibliographies (Bibliography of Delaware through 1960 and Bibliography of Delaware, 1960-1974), annual bibliographies created and published by the Delaware Historical Society (formerly known as the Historical Society of Delaware), and additional entries created by Robert Fleck, proprietor of Oak Knoll Books.
- Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new windowThe Gerritsen Collection includes two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works. You can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country’s movement on those of the others. In many cases, it also provides easy access to primary sources otherwise available only in a few rare book rooms.
- Godey's Ladys Book This link opens in a new windowGodey’s Lady’s Book was first published in 1830 and quickly became the first successful American journal for women. This digitized and searchable database of the magazine allows full-text retrieval and includes hand-colored fashion plates and illustrations.
- HarpWeek This link opens in a new windowDigitized images of Harper’s Weekly, the leading illustrated American periodical of the last half of the nineteenth century. You can browse issues by date, search the index, search for the full text of articles, browse literature by genre, or find people by their cccupation or role in society.
