Legal Resources
- Laws of the State of DelawareThe Laws of Delaware are a compilation of the official acts of each session of the Delaware General Assembly. Each session lasts for two years. After legislation passes the House of Representatives and the Senate, in identical form, it is sent to the Governor. When the legislation is signed by the Governor, it is assigned a chapter number unique to the current volume of the Laws of Delaware.
- Delaware CourtsProvides information for all level of courts in Delaware, opinions, and oral arguments from the Supreme Court in Delaware.
- Delaware Courts: Research SupportThese tips focus on state law rather than federal law. While the following tips are designed with an emphasis on Delaware, secondary sources such as self-help law books, treatises, and form books may differ from Delaware law.
- Judicial Law Libraries: DelawareIn Delaware, there are three county law libraries. Contact those libraries for information.
- Delaware Legal Research: Getting StartedThis guide provides an introduction to statutes, administrative regulations, court rules, websites, and treatises available for Delaware legal research.
Please note that access to our databases is ONLY for current UD Faculty, Staff, and Students. If you wish to conduct research with our databases, you must visit the library in person.
Morris Library does have a large legal collection, primarily located on the Lower Level of the Library. The Delaware Code can be found in the Reference section on the first floor.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowThe CQ Researcher Plus Archive explores a single “hot” issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowCovers U.S. Government, Politics & Law. Provides comprehensive coverage of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional publications, and more than 2,400 scholarly journals. Also has subject specialized databases, such as, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America.
- LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
LegalTrac provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources with an interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Delaware Code can be found in Nexis Uni. - Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowWestlaw Campus Research is a research service that combines a breadth of news and business information with in depth law-related information.
