Research Guides: ENGL110 class page: Videos

Getting started

Video Projects Guide
Includes information, resources and tools for all aspects of creating video projects

Creating Your Video

First steps

Consider the purpose, audience, tone and structure of your video, and keep them in mind as you identify what content you need to create or find and begin storyboarding.

Video Project Proposal/Pitch (Google Doc)
Questions to consider as you begin planning your video project.
Multimedia Project Planning Worksheet (Google Doc)
Worksheet for identifying content needs for your multimedia project including video, images, audio, music, graphics, etc.

Storyboarding

A storyboard is a sequential series of images and captions that provides an outline of your film story, as seen through the camera lens. Storyboards visually map out and provide a synopsis of your film, providing direction for camera movements and shot types.

UD Traditional Storyboard (Google Slides))
You will be asked to make a copy when opening this link.
UD Vertical Storyboard (Google Doc)
You will be asked to make a copy when opening this link.
StoryboardThat
Web-based storyboard tool; free version (2 storyboards/week) and paid versions
How to create storyboards
Tips, templates and examples to help get started with storyboarding

Worksheet- Landscape Storyboard (PDF)
Worksheet- Vertical Storyboard (PDF)
Storyboard Glossary of Common Film Shots
Created by the American Film Institute (2004).

Creative Commons Image Search
Search for Creative Commons licensed images through a variety of sites, including Google Images, Flickr, and Wikimedia Commons, and use the content in your own multimedia projects.
Unsplash
Free, high resolution images that do not require permission to use. Attribution is not required but encouraged.
Google Images
On the results page, go to tools > usage rights and select different licenses.
Pixabay
Pixabay has images, video, illustrations and vector graphics that are made available under the Pixabay license. You can use the content for free, for commerical and non-commerical projects, and attribution is not required, but encouraged.
Noun Project
Over a million curated icons; available under Creative Commons attribution license.
Disabled and Here collection
This collection is a disability-led effort to provide free and inclusive stock photos shot from our own perspective, featuring disabled BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, People of Color) across the Pacific Northwest.
Free Music Archive
A compilation of high quality legal downloads that you can use in your multimedia projects. Creative Commons license and attribution information provided. Try browsing the instrumental genre to find music to layer into your audio projects. You must create an account to download music.
TED Talks
TED Talks are downloadable as MP4 files and include transcripts.
Videvo
Find free videos to download; some licenses require attribution

At the Student Multimedia Design Center, you can

Borrow video recording equipment (cameras, tripods, microphones, lighting kits, backdrops, and more) for 3 days at a time.
Get help with how to use equipment at the SMDC desk or schedule a consultation with SMDC staff.
Reserve a studio for 2 hours at a time where you can both record and edit video and audio.

You may also be able to use your phone and Zoom to record for your video project.

Video Production Basics (Video Guide Page)
Overview of how to frame your shots, light your scenes, and capture crisp audio

If you will be interviewing anyone for your video project, its important to get their consent and make sure they know about the details of the project, especially who will see it.

Sample video/audio interview release form (Microsoft Word)

Computer software

iMovie (Mac only)
Adobe Premiere Rush or Adobe Premiere Pro (monthly paid subscription required)
DaVinci Resolve 18 (free version for Mac and Windows)
Wondershare Filmora (free version for Mac and Windows)

Mobile Apps

iMovie (iOS only)
InShot (iOS and Android)
Wondershare FilmoraGo (iOS and Android)

Already have an app you like?

Just make sure it can do the following:

Import audio, video, images, music, etc
Cut and trim clips
Add audio (voiceover and music)
Add text
Export to MP4 file
Anything else that your assignment specifies

Video Editing Resources

iMovie (Video Guide Page)
Includes quick links for to Apple's iMovie support pages
iMovie 10.1.16 Essential Training (2.5 hours)
You need to be logged in to LinkedIn Learning access the course. Use the left-side chapter list to watch what will be useful to you.
DaVinci Resolve (Video Guide Page)
Includes links and PDF guides to help learn how to use DaVinci Resolve
DaVinci Resolve Fundamentals (6h 50m)
You need to be logged in to LinkedIn Learning access the course. Use the left-side chapter list to watch what will be useful to you.
Video Editing Software Guides and Tutorials (Video Guide Page)
Includes links to LinkedIn Learning courses for video editing software and SMDC software guides available for download

When you're finished with your video, make sure to export it from the video editing software to an MP4 file. Then you can submit it to Canvas or upload it to a site or Google Drive.