Finding Scholarly Articles
This collection of databases is but a small sample of what UD subscribes to. For a full list of what we have, go to our "Databases" page and search for "Arts & Humanities Databases" from the "Browse by Subject" list.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases. An extensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. (Coverage: late 19th c. --)
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals from the American Anthropological Association, with links to backfile issues in JSTOR. (Coverage: varies by journal)
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. Subjects include world history, military history, womens history, history of education and more. Indexes 2,300+ academic journals in over 40 languages. (Coverage: 1952 --)
- Art Abstracts/Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts and citations for hundreds of periodicals on art, art history and related disciplines. (Coverage: Abstracts, 1984 --, Indexes, 1929-1984)
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles on architecture and design, covering subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design. (Coverage: 1741 --)
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for articles, books, book chapters, and more. When available, includes links to full-text resources from the library and in open access publications. Covers a range of humanities subjects, including world languages and literatures, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing, teaching of language, and history of publishing. (Coverage: 1926 --)
Journals give you the ability to search for articles on a specific topic or event. It can be an easier way to find relevant information because you are usually not sifting through a large pool of results. If you visit the E-Journals page, you can bring up a list of all the journals with subject content in History & Archeology. You can also search for a specific journal title from the E-Journals page or in DELCAT.
- African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new window
Publications related to African American religious life and culture, focusing largely on religious and charity-based organizations, institutions, and churches. (Coverage: 1829-1922)
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Documents the life of Americas people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction and into the early 20th c. (Coverage: 1693-1877)
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Documents the life of Americas people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction and into the early 20th century. (Coverage: 1684-1923)
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Digitized images of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the early 20th c. Provides access to two separate collections, American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) and American Periodicals from the Center for Research (APCRL). (Coverage: 1741-2005)
- British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late 17th c. to the early 20th c. (Coverage: 1680s-1930s)
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles in English-language periodicals. Covers some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known, but important specialized magazines. Subjects include a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. (Coverage: 1907-1984)
- Modernist Journals Project This link opens in a new window
A digital research and teaching collection focusing on the rise of Modernism in the English-speaking world, with a focus on periodical literature.(Coverage: 1890-1922)
- Nineteenth Century U.K. Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of periodicals covering Victorian Britain. (Coverage: 1800-1900)
- Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to the contents of journals and magazines in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues through 1995, with links to the full-text of some articles. (Coverage: 1665-1995)
- Project MUSE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text, scholarly, electronic journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. (Coverage: 1993 or later to the present)
- A&AePortal This link opens in a new window
An interactive, full-text eBook platform that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, design, and photography. Out-of-print titles and recent releases from academic and museum publishers, and peer-reviewed, born-digital content is also available.
