Research Guides: Material Culture: Newspapers

Newspapers

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing access to often overlooked perspectives. Includes unique community publications not found in any other database, as well as top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Nearly a quarter of the articles are presented in Spanish. Dozens of major Latino publications are featured, (Coverage: 1959 --)
The database also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals.

Ethnic NewsWatch™ comprehensively covers these ethnic categories:
- African American/Caribbean/African
- Arab/Middle Eastern
- Asian/Pacific Islander
- European/Eastern European
- Hispanic
- Jewish
- Native People
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Recent global news content, as well as archives. Content from newspapers, newswires and news sites in full-text format. Provides large collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America and Australia. (Coverage: 1980 --)
New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
This subscription allows you to simply go to nytimes.com and log in using an individual account.
New Subscribers: (have never had a personal or UDel account)
To create your new, free account, use this link: www.nytimes.com/activate-access/edu-access.
Existing New York Times Online Subscribers
Note: If you have an existing, paid NYT subscription, you must cancel it before you can activate the free UD Library provided subscription. You may cancel by emailing customercare@nytimes.com , connecting with a chat agent on the site, or calling 800-591-9233.
After cancelling your existing account:
- Go to www.accessnyt.com.
- Find your school name by selecting “University of Delaware” from the dropdown menu.
- Click “Already have an account? Log in here.”
- Input your udel.edu email address and the same password you created for your previous account.
- Select your status as “student” (enter your graduation date) or “faculty/staff.”
- Click “Continue” and you will be directed to www.nytimes.com.
Tips and Troubleshooting:
- Students will have access until they graduate.
- Faculty and staff must renew once every four years. Add your expiration date to your calendar; there will be no subsequent reminder.
- If you find that you no longer have access, it is most likely because your account has expired.
- After expiration, activate a new pass by visiting NYTimes.com/GroupPass .
- You may reset your NYT password any time here: nytimes.com/forgot
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text information from news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Though not required, you have the option to create a personal account that will give you access to special features such as alerts, saved searches, folders, history, annotations and more.
Vendor Lyrasis. Publisher LexisNexis.
ProQuest Recent Newspapers: U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Wall Street Journal (wsj.com) This link opens in a new window
Digital edition of the Wall Street Journal. Includes the same articles and images that appear in the print edition, plus additional resources such as video, audio, graphics, and data. Available editions: U.S., Asia, Europe, India. (Coverage: 4 years ago --)
NOTE: You must login to your account once every 90 days in order for it to remain active.
Registration Instructions
*If you already have a personal membership to the WSJ, call 1-800-JOURNAL and to inform the WSJ that you are switching to the membership provided by the University of Delaware.*
- Step 1: Click on this link: http://wsj.com/udel. You will be prompted to login to the UD Central Authentication Service (CAS)
- Step 2: Fill out the form, then click Create. When you have completed the form and clicked Create. You will see “Redemption Successful.”
- Step 3: Check your email inbox for a confirmation receipt.
- Step 4: You are now a registered user of The Wall Street Journal Digital Edition. Access it anytime, anywhere at https://www.wsj.com/ by signing in with your email address and password.
Washington Post Online This link opens in a new window
Digital edition of The Washington Post. (Coverage: 2005 --)
Select earlier content is accessible, particularly investigative journalism content related to U.S. President Richard Nixon and Watergate dating back to 1968. Search features do not enable limiting to specific date ranges, so the extent of this content is unknown.
Washington Post articles and indexing are also available from:
- 1877 to 17 years ago in ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post
- 01/01/2008 to present in ProQuest Recent Newspapers: Washington Post

History Commons This link opens in a new window
Historical resources from 18th and 19th century America. Includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records. (Coverage: approximately 1726-1902)
Includes the following:
- African American Newspapers
- American County Histories to 1900
- Anatomy of Protest in America
- The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective(November 1860-April 1865)
- Godey’s Lady’s Book ([1830-1898)
- The Lily (1849-1856)
- The Pennsylvania Gazette([1728-1800)
- The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue: Chester County (1809-1870)
- The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County (1819-1870)
- South Carolina Newspapers (1732-1780)
- Virginia Gazette (1736-1780)
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
African American U.S. newspapers from the 19th and 20th century
African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Complete text of the major African American newspapers published in the U.S and Canada during the 19th c. (Coverage: 19th c. with limited early 20th c.)
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digitized American newspapers
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Search America's historic newspapers or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published from 1690-present.
(Coverage: 1770-1963)
Newspapers.com World Collection (Library Edition) This link opens in a new window
Over 3,000 regional and local newspapers in the U.S. and other countries. (Coverage: early 1700s - early 2000s)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (New York Times) This link opens in a new window
25 concurrent users. Full pages and article images with searchable full-text back to the first issue. includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. (Coverage: 1851-4 years ago)
New York Times articles and indexing are also available from:
- Academic OneFile and General OneFile provide the full text of New York Times articles, 1985 to the present
- Nexis Uni provides abstracts of articles in the New York Times (Final New York City Edition) from January 1, 1969 to May 31, 1980 and full text from June 1, 1980 to the present.
- Global Newsstream includes the New York Times, 1980 to the present.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A cross-section of newspapers covering political party newspapers at the beginning of the 19th c. to the large dailies that shaped the nation at the centurys end. Mammoth newspapers stand alongside those published by African Americans, Native Americans, womens rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and other select groups. (Coverage: 1800-1900)
This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.
Philadelphia Inquirer This link opens in a new window
Full text articles in the Philadelphia Inquirer from various sources. See below for options.
- America’s Historical Newspapers (11/17/1860 to 12/31/1922)
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1860-2001)
- Global Newsstream (1983 to present) No graphics
- Nexus Uni (1994-present) No graphics
- Morris Library – Microfilm S 410 (1969 to present; some missing dates)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Large collection of newspapers across the country.
Every issue of each title includes the complete paper with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format. Researchers can study the progression of issues over time through these historical newspaper pages, including articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorial cartoons, and more.
Titles Included:
- The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010)
- Chicago Defender (1910-2010)
- Chicago Tribune (1849-9 years ago)
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010)
- Los Angeles Times (1881-9 years ago)
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010)
- The New York Times (1851-5 years ago)
- The News Journal (Wilmington, DE) (1871-2009)
- Norfolk Journal and Guide (1946-2010)
- The Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001)
- The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010)
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)
- The Times of India (1838-August 20, 2010)
- The Wall Street Journal (1889-17 years ago)
- The Washington Post (1877-17 years ago)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Black Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Primary source material essential to the study of American history & African-American culture, history, politics, & the arts.
Titles included:
- The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
  The most widely circulated black newspaper on the Atlantic coast. It was the first Black newspaper to have correspondents reporting on World War II, foreign correspondents, and female sports correspondents.
- Chicago Defender (1910-2010)
  A leading African-American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago.
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
  The oldest and largest Black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African American owned newspaper in the U.S.
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
  The leading Black newspaper of the 20th century reached its peak in the 1940s. The Amsterdam News was a strong advocate for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and also covered the historically important Harlem Renaissance.
- Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003)
  As a southern black newspaper, the Norfolk Journal and Guide did not have the same freedoms as northern black newspapers and thus did not aggressively or openly denounce social and racial injustices. Because of its more moderate position the Guide was able to procure advertisements from nationally owned white businesses. It was also the only black newspaper that provided on-the-scene, day-to-day coverage of the Scottsboro trial in the 1930s.
- The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
  The oldest continuously published Black newspaper, is dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation.
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)
  One of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Pittsburgh Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Pittsburgh Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights.

British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
National and regional newspapers published in the UK and Ireland between the mid-18th and mid-20th centuries. (Coverage: 1732-1950)
This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.
Gale Primary Sources: Newspapers This link opens in a new window
An integrated platform that combines Gales digital newspaper archives into a single cross-searchable interface to enhance the ability to discover primary source documents from multiple collections. Over 20 collections are available to University of Delaware users on this platform. (Coverage: 17th - 21st centuries)
Nineteenth Century U.K. Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of periodicals covering Victorian Britain. (Coverage: 1800-1900)
This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text, searchable archive of newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom. Collected by the Reverend Charles Burney, this collection represents the largest single archive of 17th and 18th century news media available from the British Library. (Coverage: 1603 - early 1800s)
This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Nichols Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
John Nichols (1745-1826) began collecting newspapers around 1778 and made them available to scholars, a tradition continued by the Bodleian Library at the University of Oxford. The collection contains over 150,000 pages of printed text, spanning nearly 100 years of history. Essential to the study of British history and culture in crucial periods, and featuring many rare news media resources. (Coverage: 1672-1737)
This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.
Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2016 This link opens in a new window
Complete run of the newspaper up to 2016, including all supplements. (Coverage: 1822-2016)
This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.
Times of India This link opens in a new window
Full digital edition of the newspaper.
Originally founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Today the paper serves researchers interested in colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics and more. (Coverage:1838-August 20, 2010)

Material Culture

Newspaper Directories

Related Guides

Newspapers