Communities, sub-communities, and collections are structures used in UDSpace to help organize material in UDSpace so that people can find it more easily. The UDSpace team determines what structures are most effective, in consultation with department and program representatives.
In most cases, UDSpace communities will contain one or more collections of scholarly material.
Communities: Most communities are associated with academic departments or large campus entities (such as the Department of Geography, the Graduate College, or the Library, Museums & Press).
Sub-communities: A sub-community might be established for a particular program within a departmental community. Sub-communities are not required, and in many cases, they are unnecessary.
Collections: Collections are the basic containers for material that is deposited in UDSpace. Collections are always hosted within communities. For example, most UDSpace departmental communities include a collection focused on open-access scholarly publications. Over time, in conjunction with the UD Faculty Senate Open Access Resolution (FSOAR), all UDSpace Departmental communities will have a collection for open-access scholarly publications. Other common types of collections might include a collection for a conference or symposium, including papers and presentations from the event.
If you represent a department or program that is not already included in UDSpace, or you wish to begin depositing material on behalf of a department, please read the section of this guide on becoming a UDSpace department/program representative, and contact the UDSpace team by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org to discuss next steps.
Start by seeing whether the department or program that you're most closely associated with has a community associated with it, and what sub-communities or collections exist. Is there a sub-community associated with the material that you want to deposit, such as a collection of open-access publications? If your department has a contact listed, reach out to that person; or contact the UDSpace team. If you do not see a community for your department or program, contact the UDSpace team, which can help you figure out next steps.