UDSpace is organized as a series of top-level collections called communities. Communities may contain both sub-communities and collections of material.
Many UD departments and centers have UDSpace communities. One way of finding material is to look first for a community associated with a department or program, and click through to see what sub-communities or collections it contains.
For more information about UDSpace's organizational structure, see UDSpace Communities and Collections.
When you click to view a specific item in UDSpace, you will see the Brief Item Record, which includes metadata for the Author(s), Citable URI, Publisher, Date Issued, as well as Abstract and Description, if those fields were filled out when the item was deposited.
You will also see an option to click to show the Full Item Record. The Full Item Record may include additional information, including sponsors and specific copyright or licensing information, if it is available. If no information shows, that indicates that it was not provided when the item was deposited.
Open-access versions of publications may have been deposited under an embargo (most embargos last from 6-48 months, depending on the publication). As of March 2022, if the publication is under an embargo, you will see the date at which it will become openly available listed in the item description. You will not be able to download embargoed material until the embargo ends.
The search box (found in the upper-righthand corner of UDSpace pages) can be used to search the entire repository, or a single community or collection. (To search a single community or collection, navigate first to the collection that you want to search. The search interface will then allow you to select all of UDSpace, or your current collection/community.
UDSpace has full-text indexing for material that has been deposited, in most cases. When you enter a term into the search box, you will be searching full documents (not just their metadata).
Search terms can be combined with filters to refine the search for information found in the Title, Author, Subject, or Issue Date. These filters usually function best with the option to see if a particular field contains a match. They will not work with partial names or words or wild cards, i.e., you must search for "james" not "ja", or "neutrino", not "neu*".