Sources for Presidential Action
If passed by both chambers, the bill is transmitted to the President for veto or for signature into law. The President has 10 days to take action. Veto messages are transmitted to Congress and are printed as either House or Senate Documents.
- Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, WCPDThe official presidential materials released by the White House Press Secretary. Examples: addresses, speeches, statements, messages, executive orders, proclamations, and radio addresses. The weekly documents are cumulated in the Public Papers of the Presidents.
- Daily Compilation of Presidential DocumentsThe official presidential materials released by the White House Press Secretary. Examples: addresses, speeches, statements, messages, executive orders, proclamations, and radio addresses.
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United StatesCumulation of the official presidential materials released by the White House Press Secretary. Examples of publications: addresses, speeches, statements, messages, executive orders, proclamations, and radio addresses.
- CQ Weekly ReportCongressional Quarterly Weekly Reports covers people and issues in Congress. Especially useful: Browse by Topic, "Inside Congress," January issues. A volume called Congressional Quarterly Almanac/CQ Almanac Plus is published at the end of a Congressional term. It compiles the most useful information from the weekly issues.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowLegislative Histories track when the president signed the law
- Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation, 1774-1875 (Library of Congress)Congressional publications from the Continental Congress through the 43rd Congress, 1774-1875. Includes Senate and House journals, the Congressional Record (1873-75); and Statutes at Large (1789-1875). Also includes Congressional Record predecessors: Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, and Congressional Globe.
- Congress.govOfficial website for U.S. federal legislative information. Includes current Congressional activity and calendars, bills & resolutions 1989 (101st Cong)-, bill summary & status 1973 (93rd Cong)-, list of laws by bill number 1989 (101st Cong)-, Congressional Record 1989 (101st Cong)-, Committee Reports 1995 (104th Cong)-, historical publications, and explanations of the legislative process. Presented by the Library of Congress.
- govinfo (Government Publishing Office)A service that provides free public access to the full text of official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Includes: the Budget, Economic Report of the President, selected Committee hearings 1997 (105th Cong)-, Public and Private Laws, Senate and House journals, Congressional Record (1994-), Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional bills (1995, 104th Congress -), Presidential papers, and many more.
Produced by GPO, the Government Publishing Office. The service was formerly called FDsys. - United States Code Congressional & Administrative News (print)
USCCAN is the Statutes at Large published by a commercial printer, with added notes and finding aids. Includes a legislative history for many laws. Covers 1959 (86th Congress) to present. Volumes are arranged chronologically and pages are printed with both PL and Stat numbers. The indexes in each volume cover only that session of Congress. In general, do not cite laws as USCCAN; use the PL or Stat form.