Research Guides: U.S. Government Information &amp; Congressional Publications: 2025 Presidential Transition Information

Capturing Efforts

Information
Data

Each new Administration updates and makes changes to various government websites and information. As a result, some information that has been taken down or changed can be difficult to find. The links and resources you see on this page are here to provide access to those on our campus community who might need it.

GODORT Presidential Transition
List of resources compiled by the Government Documents Round Table.
End of Term Web Archive
Each presidential transition changes information on government websites. This project helps to ensure that information is captured before the transition of power.

Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
Government information can be found in the Wayback Machine.

The Wayback Machine
The Internet Archive has been archiving the web for 20 years and has preserved billions of webpages from millions of websites. These webpages are often made up of, and link to, many images, videos, style sheets, scripts and other web objects. Over the years, the Archive has saved over 510 billion such time-stamped web objects, which we term web captures.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Cloud based Geographic Information System (GIS). Provides access to thousands of demographic indicators across a wide range of geographies, as well as school districts, HUD neighborhoods, and political boundaries. Facilitates the analyses of large amounts of data and quickly displays the data through maps, tables, charts, and reports.
PolicyMap includes both publicly-available and proprietary data. Refer to the detailed Data Directory for sources, years of data available, and geographic coverage.

A PolicyMap Tutorial is available.

Archive of Data.gov
Data Rescue Project
ICPSR Data Portal
An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
IPUMS
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.
Data Lumos
A crowd-sourced repository for government data.