Finding Government Data
- Data.govA collection of the U.S. Government's open data
- Explore Census DataThe Census Bureau's main research portal for finding data and digital content.
- ICPSR Data PortalAn international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
- IPUMSIPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.
- NARA CatalogDirect link to NARA's catalog.
- NTRL (National Technical Reports Library)Contains records of unclassified research materials including materials from the Army Corps of Engineers, NASA, DOE and others. U.S. Geological Survey materials are included but GeoRef or the USGS publications warehouse are better tools for finding these.
Agriculture:
Civil Infrastructure:
Chemistry:
Criminal Justice System:
Climate-Related Data:
- NASA EarthDataThe Earth Science Data Systems (ESDS) Program provides full and open access to NASA’s collection of Earth science data for understanding and protecting our home planet.
Disaster/Emergency Management:
Education:
Energy/Environment:
Government Spending:
- USA SpendingUSAspending is the official open data source of federal spending information,
including information about federal awards such as contracts, grants, and loans.
Historic Housing Data:
Healthcare/Health Statistics:
- HealthData.govThis site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
- IPUMSIPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.
Policy:
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Cloud based Geographic Information System (GIS). Provides access to thousands of demographic indicators across a wide range of geographies, as well as school districts, HUD neighborhoods, and political boundaries. Facilitates the analyses of large amounts of data and quickly displays the data through maps, tables, charts, and reports.
- National Conference for State LegislatorsThe nation's most respected bipartisan organization providing states support, ideas, connections and a strong voice on Capitol Hill.
Population/Economic Statistics of Residents:
- Census DataMerging with FactFinder, Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. The vision for data dissemination through data.census.gov is to improve the customer experience by making data available from one centralized place so that data users spend less time searching for data content and more time using it.
- IPUMSIPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.
- ICPSR Data PortalAn international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Transportation:
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Cloud based Geographic Information System (GIS). Provides access to thousands of demographic indicators across a wide range of geographies, as well as school districts, HUD neighborhoods, and political boundaries. Facilitates the analyses of large amounts of data and quickly displays the data through maps, tables, charts, and reports.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts the statistical content of selected U. S. and state government publications, business and association publications and intergovernmental publications. Abstracts may contain a link to the full- text of the table and/or a link to the agency's website where the full-text of the publication may be viewed and downloaded.
- Roper iPOLL This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international public opinion polls and datasets. Information about Dataset Formats and Tools is available. (Coverage: 1935 --)
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest and markets.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Statistical tables and charts covering various aspects of social, political, and economic life. Emphasis is on the U.S., but some tables cover regions, states, cities, and comparative international statistics. (Coverage: 1878 --)
- Historical Statistics of the United States (Online Edition)Online version of the print resource Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present.
- Census DataMerging with FactFinder, Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. The vision for data dissemination through data.census.gov is to improve the customer experience by making data available from one centralized place so that data users spend less time searching for data content and more time using it.
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Access to a number of genealogical and historical resources, including images of the decennial U.S. census from 1790-1930.