Skip to main content

English and American Literature: Databases

Tips for Searching Databases

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/8/84/Crystal_Clear_app_kfind.svg/180px-Crystal_Clear_app_kfind.svg.png

Search databases with keywords that describe the topic, author or title. Use AND, OR or NOT to connect keywords and place quotation marks around keyword phrases. Adding an asterisk after the root of the word retrieves variations of the word, including singular and plural forms.

hemingway AND "fifth column"

"popular culture" OR "pop culture"

hemingway NOT mariel

psych* = psychiatrist, psychiatrists, psychological, psychology

Historical newspaper databases and other full-text collections may require adjacency connector terms in keyword searches, such as NEAR and ADJACENT. This allows users locate specific phrases or nearby words in full text. See the Help pages of these databases for suggestions.

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.

Databases for Literary Criticism

Scholarly E-Journal Collections

Search Google Scholar

A search engine for scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations and technical reports.

Subject Librarian

Aimee Gee's picture
Aimee Gee
Contact:
English & American Literature Librarian
Reference & Instructional Services Dept.
(302) 831-6159

Subjects: English & American Literature, Comparative Literature, Theatre, Writing

Ask the Library

Close This