Skip to main content

English and American Literature: Newspapers

The Chronicle of Higher Education

Campus-wide access to the Chronicle of Higher Education (1989 to present) is available at the University of Delaware. This includes all information from the print edition as well as other online-only features.

For a summary of the Chronicle's many features, visit the site map.

Create a free account using your udel.edu email address to gain quick access to the Chronicle from an iPad, smart phone, tablet, or any computer anywhere in the world.

Associated Press Images

AP Images

AP Images is an electronic library containing the AP’s current photos and a selection of pictures from the print and negative library along with text, graphic and audio material.

Online Newspapers: Getting Started

Tips for Searching Historical Newspaper Databases

Search databases with keywords that describe the topic. Connect the keywords with AND, OR or NOT. Put quotation marks around phrases. Adding an asterisk after the root of the word retrieves variations of the word, including singular and plural forms.

kill* OR assassin* OR murder*
lincoln AND assassin*

Historical newspaper databases may require proximity operators instead of quotation marks around phrases (e.g., ADJ# for adjacent and NEAR# for near within specific number of words). See the Help pages of these databases for suggestions. Click this link for tips for searching African American historical newspaper databases.

Choose words that would be used during the time period selected. Consider using variations of names (Mrs. Smith as well as Harriet Smith) and allowing for misspelled names and words. News took a longer time to travel, so select date ranges accordingly.

Saving and Printing Newspaper Articles

Current Newspapers

Full-Text US Historical Newspapers

Full-Text British Historical Newspapers

Other Historical Newspapers

Subject Librarian

Aimee Gee's picture
Aimee Gee
Contact:
English & American Literature Librarian
Reference & Instructional Services Dept.
(302) 831-6159

Email me to schedule a meeting or visit me at the reference desk.

Ask the Library

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password.

Close This