Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including the regularly updated Grove® Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Includes articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as images of works of art, structures, plans and artist signatures.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative guide to current scholarship, with original commentary and annotations. Includes material within 5 disciplines: African American Studies, Art History, Atlantic History, Cinema and Media Studies, Literary and Critical Theory.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books. Covers all major academic areas. An excellent place to start when learning the basics of any topic. Will help focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles. Images, audio and video files are included.
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an extensive E-Book collection, a large image bank, extra reference resources, and more.
- Dictionary of Art HistoriansA biographical dictionary of historians of western art.
- New Dictionary of the History of IdeasAn encyclopedia which studies the history of Western thought and culture by exploring pivotal topics of human concern.