Research Guides: Art History: Primary Source Collections

Primary Source Collections

Primary Sources - research guide

Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
An integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface to enhance the ability to discover primary source documents from multiple collections. Over 50 collections are available to University of Delaware users on this platform. (Coverage: 1500 -)
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Wide range of content covering the long 19th c. - a term for the 125 year period beginning with the onset of the French Revolution in 1789, and ending with the outbreak of World War I in 1914. (Coverage: 1789-1914)
This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.
Archive of Americana This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collections for research in American history. Includes books, pamphlets, newspapers, and government documents printed in America over 3 centuries. (Coverage: 1639-1994)
The components of Archive of Americana that are available to UD are listed below. The collection can also be searched on Readex AllSearch, an integrated platform that combines all of UD's Readex’s primary sources into a single cross-searchable interface.
- American State Papers, 1789-1838 – Legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817.
- America’s Historical Newspapers
  - African American Newspapers Series 1 and 2: U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Coverage: 1827-1998)
  - Early American Newspapers Series 1: From Colonies to Nation. (Coverage: 1690-1876)
  - Early American Newspapers Series 2: The New Republic. (Coverage: 1758-1900)
  - Early American Newspapers Series 3: From Farm to City (Coverage: (1829-1922)
  - Early American Newspapers Series 4: The Rise of Industry (Coverage: 1756-1922)
  - Early American Newspapers Series 5: An Emerging World Power (Coverage: (1777-1922)
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the renowned bibliography by Charles Evans. (Coverage: 1639-1800)
- U.S. Congressional Serial Sett: Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives (Coverage: 1817-1994)
ms 10/2023
Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Books, serials, political pamphlets, broadsides, government publications, proclamations and ephemera focusing on economics, political science, history, sociology, banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. Includes many rare titles and 1st editions in languages other than English. (Coverage: 1450-1945)
This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Digital images of thousands of books, pamphlets and broadsides published during the 18th c. (Coverage: 1701-1800) For the earlier period, see Early English Books Online.
This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.
The acquisition of this database was made possible through the support of the Unidel Foundation.
Colonial America This link opens in a new window
All volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK. Consists of original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies. (Coverage: 1606-1822)
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
A platform that brings together millions of books, videos, images, and sounds contributed by cultural institutions from across the U.S. and makes them freely available to the world.
American Consumer Culture This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary, cross-searchable collection of 3 databases that explore the history of American consumer culture. (Coverage: 1850-2000)
Three individual databases comprise American Consumer Culture. They can also be accessed individually from the A-Z Databases page.
- Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965 presents reports produced by Ernest Dichter that attempt to reveal consumers’ innermost desires and motivations.
- J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America presents how advertising is produced and how it interacts with consumer culture through the archive and workings of one of the world’s oldest and largest advertising agencies.
- Trade Catalogues and the American Home presents domestic life and material culture by detailing the products sold in the domestic sphere.
World's Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents about landmark exhibits from 1843 to 1940. Content ranges from organizational and administrative records, postcards, books and watercolors from the exhibitions. (Coverage: 1843-1940)
This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.
China: Trade, Politics and Culture This link opens in a new window
Over 200 years of Chinese history, charting the monumental social and political upheaval that recreated China as a modern power. Documents encompass events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic. (Coverage: 1793 - 1980)
Also included are over 400 color paintings, maps, and drawings by English and Chinese artists, as well as many photographs, sketches, and ephemeral items depicting Chinese people, places, customs, and events.