Art History

New Subscribers: (have never had a personal or UDel account)

To create your new, free account, use this link:  www.nytimes.com/activate-access/edu-access.

Existing New York Times Online Subscribers

Note: If you have an existing, paid NYT subscription, you must cancel it before you can activate the free UD Library provided subscription. You may cancel by emailing customercare@nytimes.com, connecting with a chat agent on the site, or calling 800-591-9233.

After cancelling your existing account:

• Go to www.accessnyt.com.
• Find your school name by selecting “University of Delaware” from the dropdown menu.
• Click “Already have an account? Log in here.”
• Input your udel.edu email address and the same password you created for your previous account.
• Select your status as “student” (enter your graduation date) or “faculty/staff.”
• Click “Continue” and you will be directed to www.nytimes.com.

Tips and Troubleshooting:

• Students will have access until they graduate.
• Faculty and staff must renew once every four years. Add your expiration date to your calendar; there will be no subsequent reminder.
• If you find that you no longer have access, it is most likely because your account has expired.
• After expiration, activate a new pass by visiting NYTimes.com/GroupPass.
• You may reset your NYT password any time here: nytimes.com/forgot

Select earlier content is accessible, particularly investigative journalism content related to U.S. President Richard Nixon and Watergate dating back to 1968. Search features do not enable limiting to specific date ranges, so the extent of this content is unknown.

Washington Post articles and indexing are also available from:

• 1877 to 17 years ago in ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post
• 01/01/2008 to present in ProQuest Recent Newspapers:  Washington Post

Vendor Lyrasis. Publisher LexisNexis.

This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.

Includes the following:

• African American Newspapers
• American County Histories to 1900
• Anatomy of Protest in America
• The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective(November 1860-April 1865)
• Godey’s Lady’s Book ([1830-1898)
• The Lily (1849-1856)
• The Pennsylvania Gazette([1728-1800)
• The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue: Chester County (1809-1870)
• The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County (1819-1870)
• South Carolina Newspapers (1732-1780)
• Virginia Gazette (1736-1780)

Every issue of each title includes the complete paper with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format. Researchers can study the progression of issues over time through these historical newspaper pages, including articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorial cartoons, and more.

Titles Included:

• The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010)
• Chicago Defender (1910-2010)
• Chicago Tribune (1849-9 years ago)
• Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010)
• Los Angeles Times (1881-9 years ago)
• New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010)
• The New York Times (1851-5 years ago)
• The News Journal (Wilmington, DE) (1871-2009)
• Norfolk Journal and Guide (1946-2010)
• The Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001)
• The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010)
• Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)
• The Times of India (1838-August 20, 2010)
• The Wall Street Journal (1889-17 years ago)
• The Washington Post (1877-17 years ago)

Titles included:

• The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
  The most widely circulated black newspaper on the Atlantic coast. It was the first Black newspaper to have correspondents reporting on World War II, foreign correspondents, and female sports correspondents.
• Chicago Defender (1910-2010)
  A leading African-American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago.
• Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
  The oldest and largest Black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African American owned newspaper in the U.S.
• New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
  The leading Black newspaper of the 20th century reached its peak in the 1940s. The Amsterdam News was a strong advocate for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and also covered the historically important Harlem Renaissance.
• Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003)
  As a southern black newspaper, the Norfolk Journal and Guide did not have the same freedoms as northern black newspapers and thus did not aggressively or openly denounce social and racial injustices. Because of its more moderate position the Guide was able to procure advertisements from nationally owned white businesses. It was also the only black newspaper that provided on-the-scene, day-to-day coverage of the Scottsboro trial in the 1930s.
• The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
  The oldest continuously published Black newspaper, is dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation.
• Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)
  One of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Pittsburgh Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Pittsburgh Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights.

New York Times articles and indexing are also available from:

• Academic OneFile and General OneFile provide the full text of New York Times articles, 1985 to the present
• Nexis Uni provides abstracts of articles in the New York Times (Final New York City Edition) from January 1, 1969 to May 31, 1980 and full text from June 1, 1980 to the present.
• Global Newsstream includes the New York Times, 1980 to the present.

This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.

This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.

This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.

This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.