Print Resources
Finding resources in the Lincoln Collection
Books, pamphlets, journals, and other imprints in the Lincoln Collection can be searched in DELCAT, the Library’s online catalog. For best results, limit searches to Special Collections and "Lincoln Collection" (or other suggested collections below) with additional search terms for African American history as suggested in Finding Resources in Special Collections.
- Use the "Advanced Search" option in Delcat
- Enter one of the named Lincoln Collections in the "Author" field (see below)
- Add relevant subject terms or keywords
- Scroll down to "Held by Library" and limit search results to Special Collections
Suggested Collection "author" searches:
- Lincoln Collection
- Lincoln Club of Delaware
- Otto C. Rentner Lincoln and Civil War Collection
- Richard H. Stewart Abraham Lincoln Collection
- William W. Swayze (KW=keyword search)
Books and printed material
The Lincoln Collection contains many resources and materials specifically dealing with 19th-century African American life and history, emancipation, Black Civil War soldiers and military service, and slavery. This list is just a sampling of titles; please explore DELCAT and see Exhibitions for additional suggestions relating to African Americans and President Lincoln within the Lincoln Collection.
-
The black man : his antecedents, his genius, and his achievements
by
Call Number: Lincoln Collection: E185.96 .B86x 1863Publication Date: 1863First edition. -
A Picture of Slavery: Drawn from the Decisions of Southern Courts. Pamphlets: 1860-1866, No. 9. Philadelphia: Crissy & Markley
Call Number: Lincoln Collection: E449 .P61x 1863Publication Date: 1863An original anti-slavery pamphlet from a political campaign in Pennsylvania.
-
Littell's Living Age : Relating to Slavery and the American Civil War. Cleveland, Ohio: publisher not identified
Call Number: Lincoln Collection: E 453 .L58x 1917Publication Date: 1917Excerpts from a 19th century periodical, all on the topic of slavery
-
The Opinions of Abraham Lincoln Upon Slavery and Its Issues : Indicated by His Speeches, Letters, Messages, and Proclamations. New York: Union League of America
Call Number: Lincoln Collection:Publication Date: 1863A piece of campaign literature.
-
The History of Abraham Lincoln, and the Overthrow of Slavery. Chicago: Clarke
by
Call Number: Lincoln Collection:Publication Date: 1866First edition. Owned by Mary Todd Lincoln.
-
U.S. infantry tactics : for the instruction, exercise, and manœuvers of the soldier, a company, line of skirmishers, and battalion, for the use of the colored troops of the United States Infantry
by
Call Number: UD160 .A5x 1863bPublication Date: 1863Civil War Colored Troops
