Historical Sources
Subject search terms in Finding Resources in Special Collections will help researchers locate a range of general sources about African Americans, from the colonial period to contemporary times, including bibliographic classics in African American Studies and anything related to African Americans in Delaware.
-
A History of African Americans of Delaware and Maryland's Eastern Shore
by
Call Number: E 185.93.D4 M37 1998Publication Date: 1999-02-01Delaware Collection. Second edition. Delaware Heritage Commission publication. -
Antoni: African at New Sweden
by
Call Number: PZ 975.1 .M464a 2001Publication Date: 2001Delaware Collection. Juvenile fiction.
-
The Negro in the American rebellion: his heroism and his fidelity
by
Call Number: E 540.N3 B8 1867Publication Date: 1867African American soldiers, from the Revolutionary War through the Civil War.
-
Narrative and confessions of Lucretia P. Cannon, who was tried, convicted, and sentenced to be hung at Georgetown, Delaware, with two of her accomplices. Containing an account of some of the most horrible and shocking murders and daring robberies ever com
Call Number: HV 6248.C16 N3 1841Publication Date: 1841Robert D. Fleck, Jr., Delaware Collection. Account of the notorious Patty Cannon, slavery trafficker and co-leader of the Cannon-Johnson Gang of the Maryland-Delaware border.
-
I'm off for Charleston (broadside)
by
Call Number: FOLIO+ ML 1628.2 .A36x 1800zPublication Date: 1852-1857Ballad from the popular minstrel music of the 19th century.
-
Black reconstruction: an essay toward a history of the part which black folk played in the attempt to reconstruct democracy in America, 1860-1880
by
Call Number: E 668 .D83Publication Date: 1935First edition. From the Library of Barrie Stavis.
-
Mary Ann Shadd Cary: the Black press and protest in the nineteenth century
by
Call Number: E 185.97 .C32 R48 1998ISBN: 0253334462Publication Date: 1998Delaware Collection. Mary Ann Shadd Cary was a courageous and outspoken 19th-century African American who used the press and public speaking to fight slavery and oppression in the United States and Canada. Her life provides a window on the free black experience, emergent black nationalisms, African Americans' gender ideologies, and the formation of a black public sphere. -
A Voice from the South
by
Call Number: E 185.6 .C77 1892Publication Date: 1892Perspectives by a Black woman on African American women in the 19th-century American South
-
Negro makers of history
by
Call Number: E 185 .W895x 1928Publication Date: 1928Book plate of Pauline A. Young; ownership signature of Alice Dunbar-Nelson. From the library of Alice Dunbar-Nelson."An adaptation of [the author's] The Negro in our history to the capacity of children in the elementary schools."--Preface.
-
Peter Spencer's movement : exploring the history of the Union American Methodist Episcopal Church, 1805-1999
by
Call Number: FOLIO BX8471.A4 W55 2001Publication Date: 2001Delaware Collection. Author's autograph presentation copy.
-
Historical vignettes of African American churches in Wilmington, Delaware
by
Call Number: folio F174.W78 A23x 1998Publication Date: 1998Delaware Collection. Author's autograph copy.
-
People were close
by
Call Number: F 175.N4 P46x 2005Publication Date: 2005Delaware Collection. UD student project with the New London Road/Cleveland Avenue community.
