Industry and Company Research
Sources for Industry Classification:
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS): A standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
Examples: 722511 (Restaurants); 423450 (Medical Equipment & Devices) ;541921 (Photography Studios) and 812113 (Nail Salons )
The IBISWorld Industry Report database has specialized industry report codes. These codes cover special industries and provides analysis for new industries or specialized products not captured by NAICS. Example: OD4260 - Candle Manufacturing.
These databases can be used to identify NAICS: Search for company by name and the company record will show assigned codes.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text for thousands of journals, covering all disciplines of business. (Coverage: Varies according to journal, some back to 1922.)
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Full-text company and industry intelligence on global corporations.
Industry And Company Analysis
A review of the industry and company issues that can impact the industry and business operations such economics, political, business cycles, government regulations, revenue size, risks, employment, etc. (See also section on RISK Analysis)
Recommended Databases:
- IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
U.S. industry market research and industry risk ratings. Contains trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. Includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest and markets.
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Full-text company and industry intelligence on global corporations.
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles.
Residential Search: Find address and other contact information on individuals.
Demographics Search: Demographic reports on a geographic area of your choice. Data includes statistics on the area's population, including age, race, gender, income and more. - Passport This link opens in a new window
A global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers.
You must be a current University of Delaware student, faculty, or staff member to use this database. A valid UDNetID and password are required.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text for thousands of journals, covering all disciplines of business. (Coverage: Varies according to journal, some back to 1922.)
- Marketscope Advisor This link opens in a new window
Extensive market commentary, independent investment analysis, real-time news and extensive data about a broad range of asset classes and sectors.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Suite of information resources for in-depth business and financial research. Contains corporate information covering thousands of U.S. and foreign public companies. Includes access to Investext, which provides reports written by analysts at investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms.