Electronic Book Collections

Contains key texts of 20th century African literature and has a unique importance in the history of postcolonial writings. A particular strength of this collection is the inclusion of womens poetry from The Heinemann Book of African Womens Poetry. (Coverage: 1900s-1999)

Integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an extensive E-Book collection, a large image bank, extra reference resources, and more.

Approximately 1,462 plays by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Some 600 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. (Coverage: mid-1800s --)

Monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present.

Over 400 years of personal writings by women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. Shows the various shapes and formats of the diary as it evolved. Allows researchers to view history in the context of women’s thoughts—their struggles, achievements, passions, pursuits, and desires. (Complements Alexander Street’s North American Women’s Letters and Diaries.) (Coverage: 1500s - 1950)

Poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages.

Over 200 years of Chinese history, charting the monumental social and political upheaval that recreated China as a modern power. Documents encompass events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic. (Coverage: 1793 - 1980)

Provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with tools to find, use, and manage the information.

eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subjects. Titles are from a variety of publishers.

Started by Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs Gerritsen in the late 1800s, this collection of monographs and periodicals reflects the evolution of a feminist consciousness and womens rights. By the time her successors finished their work in 1945, the collection was the greatest single source for the study of womens history in the world, with materials spanning 4 centuries and 15 languages. (Coverage: 1543-1945)

American and Canadian women’s diaries and correspondence, spanning more than 300 years. (Coverage: Colonial - 1950s)

A curated leisure reading collection of new and popular e-books and audiobooks. Your first step is to download the Libby app to your device. The Library's OverDrive Collection can be searched or browsed by logging into the app or searching DELCAT. 

Note: The OverDrive app was discontinued and replaced with Libby in May 2023.

An integrated platform for books, journals, and other materials published by Springer, a major publisher of science and social sciences books and journals. The UD Library has acquired Springer eBooks in most subject areas. (Coverage: 2005 --)

Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes document projects and archives, the online version of Notable American Women (1971-2004), the database on Commissions on the Status of Women (1961-2005), book reviews, teaching tools, and more.

Database of the Women Writers Project (WWP), Northeastern University; a long-term research project devoted to early modern women’s writing and electronic text encoding. (Coverage: 1400-1850)