Electronic Book Collections

A collection of e-books across the entire range of the humanities.

Full-text collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters, and books. Also includes publications from select publishers and the ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a bibliographic database focused exclusively on the field of computing.

Contains key texts of 20th century African literature and has a unique importance in the history of postcolonial writings. A particular strength of this collection is the inclusion of womens poetry from The Heinemann Book of African Womens Poetry. (Coverage: 1900s-1999)

Diaries, letters, and memoirs from over 2,000 authors, written before, during, and after the American Civil War. (Coverage: ranges from contemporary letters and diaries to those published many years after the Civil War).

Histories of cities and counties of the original thirteen states (with the exception of Virginia), plus Vermont and Maine. The collection includes more than 2,700 large volumes that have been manually rekeyed. It provides vivid portraits of people, places, and events—not just national figures, but local figures, demographics, social, economic, and cultural transformations.

Historical legislative and executive documents of Congress. (Coverage: 1789-1838)

An interactive, full-text eBook platform that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, design, and photography. Out-of-print titles and recent releases from academic and museum publishers, and peer-reviewed, born-digital content is also available.

The ARTFL Project is a consortium-based service that provides its members with access to North America's largest collection of digitized French resources. Along with ARTFL's flagship database ARTFL-FRANTEXT, ARTFL members are also given access to a variety of other subscriber databases. ARTFL also supports many Open Access databases. (Coverage:17th-20th centuries)

Integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an extensive E-Book collection, a large image bank, extra reference resources, and more.

Approximately 1,462 plays by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Some 600 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. (Coverage: mid-1800s --)

Monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present.

Over 400 years of personal writings by women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. Shows the various shapes and formats of the diary as it evolved. Allows researchers to view history in the context of women’s thoughts—their struggles, achievements, passions, pursuits, and desires. (Complements Alexander Street’s North American Women’s Letters and Diaries.) (Coverage: 1500s - 1950)

Poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages.

Over 200 years of Chinese history, charting the monumental social and political upheaval that recreated China as a modern power. Documents encompass events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic. (Coverage: 1793 - 1980)

A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Each section of CIAO is updated with new material regularly.

Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books. Covers all major academic areas. An excellent place to start when learning the basics of any topic. Will help focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles. Images, audio and video files are included.

Includes nearly every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in North America during the 17th and 18th centuries. The definitive resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th and 18th century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and many other topics. (Coverage: 1639-1800)

Early work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere. (Coverage: 1470-1700)

eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subjects. Titles are from a variety of publishers.

Provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with tools to find, use, and manage the information.

Digital images of thousands of books, pamphlets and broadsides published during the 18th c. (Coverage: 1701-1800) For the earlier period, see Early English Books Online.

Started by Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs Gerritsen in the late 1800s, this collection of monographs and periodicals reflects the evolution of a feminist consciousness and womens rights. By the time her successors finished their work in 1945, the collection was the greatest single source for the study of womens history in the world, with materials spanning 4 centuries and 15 languages. (Coverage: 1543-1945)

Millions of full-text documents in electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science from IEEE and its publishing partners. Includes access to IEEE journals, magazines, conferences, and standards, as well as IET journals, magazines, and conferences. (Coverage: 1998- present   |   select content 1872- present)

An extensive online library of full-text content from leading publishers and societies. Covers engineering, chemistry, biochemistry, earth and environmental sciences, and more.

Works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, as well as biographies, bibliographies and key secondary sources. Primary works represent a collection of thousands of works by influential authors as well as the works of lesser known or now forgotten literary figures. (Coverage: 8th century --)

The digital Loeb Classical Library extends the founding mission of James Loeb with an interconnected, fully searchable, growing virtual library of important Greek and Latin literature. Includes up-to-date and accurate English translations of hundreds of volumes of Latin and Greek texts.

Books, serials, political pamphlets, broadsides, government publications, proclamations and ephemera focusing on economics, political science, history, sociology, banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.  Includes many rare titles and 1st editions in languages other than English. (Coverage: 1450-1945)

American and Canadian women’s diaries and correspondence, spanning more than 300 years. (Coverage: Colonial - 1950s)

Country studies, forecasting publications, periodicals, socio-economic reports as well as podcasts from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Topics covered include agriculture, developing economies, education, employment, energy, the environment, migration, social issues, and sustainable development.

A curated leisure reading collection of new and popular e-books and audiobooks. Your first step is to download the Libby app to your device. The Library's OverDrive Collection can be searched or browsed by logging into the app or searching DELCAT. 

Note: The OverDrive app was discontinued and replaced with Libby in May 2023.

Important primary source texts and translations in the history of philosophy and thought.

An integrated platform for books, journals, and other materials published by Springer, a major publisher of science and social sciences books and journals. The UD Library has acquired Springer eBooks in most subject areas. (Coverage: 2005 --)

Full-text of the most important dramatic works of 16th and 17th century Spain.

House and Senate Documents and Reports, constituting a rich set of primary source documents. Covers a variety of topics and may include reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations, etc. (Coverage: 1817-1994)

Database of the Women Writers Project (WWP), Northeastern University; a long-term research project devoted to early modern women’s writing and electronic text encoding. (Coverage: 1400-1850)

Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes document projects and archives, the online version of Notable American Women (1971-2004), the database on Commissions on the Status of Women (1961-2005), book reviews, teaching tools, and more.